

T +33(0)390214895

www.coe.int/congress

congress.com@coe.int Ref. CG-PR028 (2011)

Four cities awarded the "3rd Dosta!-Congress Prize for Municipalities"

Strasbourg, 14.10.2011 – The " 3rd Dosta! - Congress Prize for Municipalities" has been awarded to four communities, as part of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities' contribution to the Council of Europe's Dosta! Campaign. The prize, established in 2007, rewards municipalities which are distinguished for their participatory and innovative work in combating anti-Gypsyism and promoting the inclusion of Roma in political and social life.

The jury, composed of seven personalities from the Council of Europe and the European Roma and Travellers Forum, has examined eleven applications from different European countries, The Co-Presidents of the jury – Mr Keith Whitmore, President of the Congress and Fanny Ardant, Ambassador of the Dosta! Campaign – expressed the jury's common appreciation, stressing the quality of the projects sent in.

The winners of the third edition of the "Dosta!-Congress Prize for Municipalities" are the cities of Jyväskylä (Finland) and Surčin, Belgrade (Serbia) for the joint first prize, Southwark, Greater London (United Kingdom) for the second prize and the Autonomous Community of Madrid (Spain) for the third prize.

Representatives of the winning communities will receive the prize at the ceremony which will take place on 19 October 2011, at the headquaters of the Council of Europe in Strasbourg. The ceremony will be attended by Mr Whitmore, Jeroen Schokkenbroek, Special Representative of the Secretary General for Roma Issues, and Permanent Representatives from the Council of Europe member states of the prize winners.

More information on the Dosta campaign <u>here</u> More information on the Dosta! - Congress Prize for Municipalities <u>here</u>

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Keith Whitmore (United Kingdom, ILDG), President of the Chamber of Regions: Herwig van Staa (Austria, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC)

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).