T +33(0)390214895

www.coe.int/congress

congress.com@coe.int

Ref. CG-PR 020 (2011)

Congress to monitor local and regional democracy in Moldova

Strasbourg, 9 September 2011 – the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe will be carrying out a monitoring visit to Moldova on 12 and 13 September 2011 to assess the situation regarding local and regional democracy in that country. This first visit will be followed by a second one in the autumn. The Congress rapporteurs, Francis LEC (France, SOC) and Ignacio SANCHEZ-AMOR (Spain, SOC), will consider Moldova's record of compliance with its local and regional commitments in the light of the European Charter of Local Self-Government, which it ratified in October 1997. In particular, they will focus on the country's response to the recommendations to the Moldovan authorities following the last Congress monitoring visit in 2005.

There will be a number of meetings with government and parliamentary representatives, in particular Marian LUPU, parliamentary speaker and interim President of Moldova, Mihai MOLDOVANU, Deputy Prime Minister, Valeriu LAZAR, Minister of the Economy, Veaceslav NEGRUTA, Minister of Finance, and Victor Bodiu, Secretary General of the Government. The delegation will also meet Marcel RADUCAN, Minister of Regional Development and Construction, and Deputy Minister Veaceslav GUTUTUI.

There will also be meetings with representatives of parliamentary committees and of the Moldovan local authorities association.

At these meetings, the delegation will discuss the implementation of the national decentralisation strategy, the various local and regional administrative reforms in the country and the abolition of the Ministry of Public Administration in 2009.

Contact on the spot:

Jean-Philippe Bozouls, Secretariat of the Congress, mobile: +33 6 72 75 42 97

Contact in Strasbourg:

Stéphanie Poirel, Secretariat of the Congress, Tel: + 33 (0) 3 90 21 51 84

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Keith Whitmore (United Kingdom, ILDG), President of the Chamber of Regions: Herwig van Staa (Austria, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC)

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).