

Members of the Monitoring Committee of the Congress meet in Izmir (Turkey)

Ref. CG-PR 011 (2011)

Strasbourg 1 July 2011 – The Monitoring Committee of the Congress is set to meet on 4 July in Izmir (Turkey) under the chairmanship of Lars O. MOLIN (Sweden, EPP/CD). At the top of the agenda are five monitoring reports on local and regional democracy in Latvia, Bulgaria, Slovenia, Finland and Serbia which refer inter alia to the debates conducted in these countries on regional development. The relevant preliminary draft recommendations will be considered by the Committee for approval before being voted upon at the Congress session in October.

The Committee's rapporteurs on local and regional democracy in Bosnia and Herzegovina, the Czech Republic, Lithuania and Germany will also brief participants on their recent monitoring visits. The reports are currently at the draft stage.

Committee members will also discuss the development of indicators for collecting data with a view to raising human rights awareness among local and regional elected representatives. Presented by Lars O. MOLIN, who is the rapporteur on this subject and Chair of the Monitoring Committee of the Congress, this text represents a contribution by the Congress to the Conference of European ministers responsible for local and regional government which is to be held in Kyiv (Ukraine) on 3 and 4 November 2011.

The meeting will be opened by Cahit KIRAÇ, Governor of Izmir Province, Aziz KOCAOĞLU, Mayor of the Metropolitan Municipality of Izmir, and Serdar DEĞIRMENCI, President of Izmir Provincial Council, together with Keith WHITMORE, President of the Congress, and Lars MOLIN (Sweden, EPP/CD).

Contact on the spot: Jean-Philippe Bozouls, Secretariat of the Congress, mobile: +33 6 72 75 42 97

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Keith Whitmore (United Kingdom, ILDG), President of the Chamber of Regions: Herwig van Staa (Austria, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Paul Frécon (France, SOC)

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).