

Ref. CG-PR 010 (2011)

Congress delegation to carry out its first general monitoring in Germany

Strasbourg, 23.06.2011 - The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe is carrying out a first general monitoring visit to assess the state of local and regional democracy in Germany from 27 to 29 June 2011. Congress Rapporteurs Britt-Marie LÖVGREN (Sweden, ILDG), and Ignacio SANCHEZ-AMOR (Spain, SOC) will examine the follow-up of commitments undertaken in the field of local and regional self-government, with regard to the country's ratification of the European Charter of Local Self-Government in May 1988. The previous monitoring mission, carried out in May 1999, was focused on the situation of local finances in Germany.

Meetings will be held with high level representatives, including Dr Ole SCHRÖDER, Parliamentary State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of the Interior, Mr Hartmut KOSCHYK, Parliamentary State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of Finance as well as State Secretaries of the Berlin Senate, Mr Ulrich FREISE (Department of Interior and Sports) and Ms KERSTIN LIEBICH (Department of Integration, Labour and Migration), and representatives of federal and regional Parliaments.

The delegation will also meet ombudsmen, judges from regional constitutional courts as well as members of the Berlin Senate and Mayors of various towns and cities, including Postdam, Frankfurt (Oder) and Lichtenberg and representatives of local and regional associations.

The second part of this monitoring visit is scheduled for 27 and 28 September 2011, which will be followed by a report, to be submitted to the Congress' Monitoring Committee.

Contact on the spot : Sedef CANKOÇAK, Secretariat of the Congress : mobile : +33 (0) 6 50 39 29 07

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Keith Whitmore (United Kingdom, ILDG), President of the Chamber of Regions: Herwig van Staa (Austria, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Paul Frécon (France, SOC)

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).