

The Congress conducts a monitoring visit in Czech Republic to assess the state of local and regional democracy

Ref. CG-PR 008 (2011)

Strasbourg, 10.06.2011 - The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe is carrying out a monitoring mission to assess the state of local and regional democracy in Czech Republic from 13 to 15 June 2011. Congress Rapporteurs Emil CALOTA (Romania, SOC) and Philippe RECEVEUR (Switzerland, EPP/CD) will examine the follow-up of commitments undertaken in the field of local and regional self-government, with regard to the country's ratification of the European Charter of Local Self-Government in May 1999. A first monitoring report by the Congress has been made public in 2000.

Meetings are envisaged with high level representatives of the Czech government, notably Jan KUBICE, and Ondřej VESELSKÝ respectively Minister and Vice-minister of Interior, as well as JUDr. Pavel RYCHETSKÝ, President of the Constitutional Court of the Czech Republic, František DOHNAL, President of the Supreme Audit Office and JUDr. Pavel VARVAŘOVSKÝ, Public Defender of Rights.

The delegation will also meet mayors of Velký Osek and Brno, as well as representatives of the Prague City Assembly, the Association of Regions and the Union of Towns and Municipalities of the Czech Republic.

Contact:

Lilit Nikoghosyan (on the spot) Secretariat of the Congress, mobile: + 33 6 50 39 29 16 Stéphanie Poirel, Secretariat of the Congress, + 33 3 90 21 51 84

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Keith Whitmore (United Kingdom, ILDG), President of the Chamber of Regions: Herwig van Staa (Austria, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Paul Frécon (France, SOC)

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).