T +33388413193 F +33390214134 http://assembly.coe.int pace.com@coe.int

Ref. PACE 023 (2011)

PACE to observe the parliamentary elections in Turkey

Strasbourg, 06.06.2011 – A 26-member delegation of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE), led by Kerstin Lundgren (Sweden, ALDE), will travel to Turkey from 10 to 13 June to observe the parliamentary elections.

The delegation will meet representatives of political parties, the Chair of the Supreme Board of Elections as well as representatives of NGOs and the media, before observing the vote on 12 June in a sample of polling stations. A PACE pre-electoral delegation visited Ankara on 17 and 18 May.

A press conference is scheduled for Monday 13 June at 11 am at the Rixos Grand Ankara Hotel, Atatürk Bulv. No:183, Ankara.

Contact:

Nathalie Bargellini, PACE Communication Division, mobile +33 (0)6 65 40 32 82, tel. +33 3 88 41 22 82, e-mail : nathalie.bargellini@coe.int

<u>List of delegation members</u> Statement by PACE pre-electoral mission



The Assembly brings together 318 members from the national parliaments of the 47 member states. President: Mevlüt Çavusoglu (Turkey, EDG) - Secretary General of the Assembly: Wojciech Sawicki. Political groups: EPP/CD (Group of the European People's Party); SOC (Socialist Group); EDG (European Democrat Group); ALDE (Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe); UEL (Group of the Unified European Left).