T +33(0)390214895

www.coe.int/congress

congress.com@coe.int

Ref.: CG-PR001(2011)

## International election observers to present findings at press conference in Tirana on Tuesday

Tirana, 09.05.2011 - The international observers deployed by the OSCE Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights (ODIHR) and the Council of Europe's Congress of Local and Regional Authorities will present their preliminary statement at a news conference on Tuesday.

The preliminary statement will be delivered by Jonathan Stonestreet, Head of the OSCE/ODIHR Election Observation Mission, and Hana Richtermocova, Head of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities delegation. Volkram Gebel, Rapporteur of the Congress delegation will also be at the press conference.

The OSCE/ODIHR Election Observation Mission comprises 292 observers from 36 countries, including 40 long-term and 252 short-term observers. The delegation of the Congress comprises 14 locally elected representatives from 11 countries, including members of the EU Committee of the Regions.

Journalists are invited to the press conference at 12:00 on Tuesday, 10 May at the Sheraton Hotel, Illyria 2 Room.

## **Contact on the spot:**

Antonella CAGNOLATI, Director of the Congress, tel.: +33 6 63 47 87 28

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Keith Whitmore (United Kingdom, ILDG), President of the Chamber of Regions: Herwig van Staa (Austria, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Paul Frécon (France, SOC)

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).