

Ref. 260(2011)

Congress adopts a report on the local elections in Ukraine

Strasbourg, 24.03.2011 – While the local elections in Ukraine held on 31 October 2010 were generally conducted in a calm and peaceful atmosphere, they met neither the standards that the Congress wished to see, nor the standards set by the presidential elections in January and February 2010, concludes a report of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe, adopted on 24 March 2011.

The report, presented by Nigel Mermagen (United Kingdom, GILD) is the result of an electoral observation mission headed by Gudrun Mosler-Törnström (Austria, SOC). Members of the European Union's Committee of the Regions took part in the mission.

The main cause for concern raised by the report is a local election law which was adopted just before the ballot and thus caused confusion in the organisation of the vote, notably with the creation of politically unbalanced electoral commissions, discretionary registration of candidates and overly complicated voting and counting procedures.

The Congress also called on the relevant Ukrainian authorities to continue dialogue with the Council of Europe, particularly the Venice Commission, and to pursue thoroughly the reform aiming at adopting a unified electoral code for Ukraine as soon as possible.

The Congress also stresses the need to pursue the local self-government draft reform, and encouraged President Yanukovych to endorse these policies.

Finally, in a recommendation, the Congress specifically invited the Ukrainian authorities to continue the practice of submitting electoral legislation on local and regional elections to the Venice Commission for opinion, prior to adoption by the Parliament.

20th session of the Congress

- The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial
- communities.

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).

President of the Congress: Keith Whitmore (United Kingdom, ILDG), President of the Chamber of Regions: Herwig van Staa (Austria, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Paul Frécon (France, SOC)