Ress Release

Communication Unit of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities

Ref:650a07

Tel:: +33 3 90 21 49 36 Fax: +33 3 88 41 27 51 congress.com@coe.int www.coe.int/congress



Territorial authorities and democratic cohesion focus of Novi Sad conference

Strasbourg, 03.10.2007 - Territorial authorities and democratic cohesion will be the theme of the conference which takes place on Monday, 8 October in Novi Sad, Vojvodina (Serbia). Jointly organised by the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe and the Assembly of the Autonomous Province of Vojvodina, under the Serbian Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers, the conference will be attended by – among others – local and regional elected representatives and representatives of national associations of local authorities.

The participants will discuss the partnership between the Congress and national associations of local authorities, which play a crucial role in representing towns and regions at national and international level. They will also discuss implementation of the strategy for good governance at local level, which will be presented at the next Conference of European Ministers responsible for Local and Regional Government (Valencia, Spain, 15-16 October 2007).

Speakers at the opening session will include Bojan Kostres, President of the Assembly of the Autonomous Province of Vojvodina, Milan Markovic, Minister of Public Administration and Local Self-Government of the Republic of Serbia, Zeljko Ozegovic, President of the Standing Conference of Serbian Towns, Halvdan Skard, President of the Congress.

Bojan Kostres and Halvdan Skard will be talking to journalists at a press conference, to be held on Monday, 8 October at 11am. (Office of the President, Assembly of the Autonomous Province of Vojvodina).

Conference website: www.coe.int/novisad

Contacts:

In Strasbourg: Dmitri Marchenkov

Head of the Congress Communication Unit.

Tel.: +33 3 88 41 38 44; dmitri.marchenkov@coe.int

In Novi Sad: Jelena Savkovic

Press Officer, Assembly of the Autonomous Province of Vojvodina

Email: jsavkovic@skupstinavojvodine.sr.gov.yu

47 members

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus

Czech Republic

Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Latvia Liechtenstein

Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova Monaco Montenegro Netherlands Norway

Poland Portugal Romania Russia

San Marino

Serbia

Slovakia Slovenia

Spain Sweden

Switzerland "The former Yugoslav Republic of

Macedonia" Turkey Ukraine

United Kinadom