T +33(0)390214895

www.coe.int/congress

congress.com@coe.int

Ref. CG-PR 019 (2011)

## Congress to look at test on e-voting in Norwegian municipal elections

Strasbourg, 08.09.2011 – A delegation from the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe will carry out an assessment mission in the framework of the local elections to be held in Norway on 12 September 2011. The delegation is particularly interested in gathering information about the electronic voting procedure to be tested in ten Norwegian municipalities (Bodø, Bremanger, Hammerfest, Mandal, Radøy, Re, Sandnes, Tynset, Vefsn and Ålesund) .

Congress members Nigel MERMAGEN, United Kingdom (L, ILDG), and Devrim CUKUR, Turkey (R,SOC), will carry out this visit to the country from 9 to 13 September. They will attend a Conference on E-voting organised by the Norwegian authorities on Sunday 11 September. On Election Day, the Congress delegation will observe the vote in Oslo and its environs.

## Press contact on the spot:

Renate Zikmund, Head of the Congress Division of Communication and Election Observation, tel. +33 6 59 78 64 55 renate.zikmund@coe.int

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Keith Whitmore (United Kingdom, ILDG), President of the Chamber of Regions: Herwig van Staa (Austria, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Paul Frécon (France, SOC)

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).