## **CONGRESS OF LOCAL AND REGIONAL AUTHORITIES CONGRÈS DES POUVOIRS LOCAUX ET RÉGIONAUX**





**Public** 23 November 2016

#### **CONGRESS MONITORING VISIT TO MALTA**

## Valletta, Żebbug, Mosta, Gharb and Senglea (22 - 24 November 2016) DRAFT PROGRAMME

Congress delegation:

**Rapporteurs:** 

Mr Risto RAUTAVA Rapporteur on local democracy

Chamber of local authorities (EPP/CCE) Member of the Helsinki City Council

Finland

Mr Stewart DICKSON Rapporteur on regional democracy

Chamber of regional (ILDG)

Member of the Northern Ireland Legislative Assembly

United Kingdom

**Congress Secretariat:** 

Ms Stéphanie POIREL Secretary to the Monitoring Committee

**Expert:** 

Mr George COUCOUNIS Member of the Group of Independent Experts on the

European Charter of Local Self-Government (Cyprus)

**Interpreters:** 

Ms Annette SCERRI

Ms Fiona NAVARRO

The working language of the meeting will be Maltese and interpretation from and into English will be provided.

## Monday 21 November 2016 Valletta

## **Arrival of the Congress Delegation**

# Tuesday 22 November 2016 Valletta, Żebbug and Mosta

Joint meeting with the Maltese Delegation to the Congress, the representatives of the Local Councils' Association and the independent experts

## - Maltese Delegation to the Congress:

- Mr Mario FAVA, Head of Delegation, Councillor of Swiegi
- Mr Mario GAUCI, Deputy Head of Delegation, Deputy Mayor of Gharghur
- Ms Josianne CUTAJAR, Full member, Councillor of Nadur
- Mr Jean-Pierre ATTARD, Alternate member, Councillor of Zurrieq
- Ms Amanda ABELA, Alternate member, Councillor of Zejtun Mr Byron CAMILLERI, Alternate member, Councillor of Fgura

## - Local Councils' Association

- Mr Marc SANT, President of the Local Councils' Association and Councillor of Lija,
- **Mr Paul FARRUGIA**, Vice President for National Affairs of the Local Councils' Association, Mayor of Tarxien and Regional President of the South East Region Committee
- Mr Samuel AZZOPARDI, Vice President for International Affairs of the Local Councils' Association, Mayor of Victoria (Rabat), Regional President of Gozo Region Committee

#### **Valletta City Hall:**

Mr Alexiei DINGLI, Mayor

#### **Constitutional Court of Malta:**

- Hon. Mr Silvio CAMILLERI, Chief Justice
- **Hon. Mr Giannino Caruana DEMAJO**, Senior Administrative Judge and Vice-Chairman, Judicial Studies Committee
- Hon. Mr Noel CUSCHIERI, President of the Family Section of the Civil Court

#### **Zebbug Local Council:**

Ms Sarah AGIUS, Mayor

#### **Mosta Local Council:**

- Mr Edwin VASSALLO, Mayor

## Wednesday 23 November 2016 Valletta and Ghasri

#### Parliament:

- Hon Anġlu FARRUGIA, Speaker of the House of Representatives
- Hon Michael FALZON, M.P. (Government Parliamentary Group)
- Hon Karl GOUDER, M.P. (Opposition Parliamentary Group)
- Mr John VELLA, Clerk Assistant, House of Representatives

#### Ombudsman:

- Mr Anthony C. MIFSUD, Parliamentary Ombudsman
- Mr Perit David PACE, Commissioner for Environment and Planning
- Dr Monica Borg GALEA, Head of Investigations

#### **National Audit Office:**

- Mr Charles DEGUARA, Auditor General
- Mr Brian VELLA, Assistant Auditor General
- Ms Tanya MERCIECA, Assistant Auditor General
- Ms Maria FERRIGI, Principal Auditor

## **Parliamentary Secretariat for Local Government:**

- Hon. Stefan BUONTEMPO, Parliamentary Secretary for Local Government
- Mr Adrian MIFSUD, Director, Department for Local Government
- Mr Natalino ATTARD, Director General
- Mr Perit John Baptist FARRUGIA, Advisor

## **Gozo Regional Committee:**

- Mr Joseph CORDINA, Mayor
- Mr George REFALO, Executive Secretary

### **Gharb Local Council (Gozo Island):**

Mr David APAP, Mayor

**Meeting with Mr Ian MICALLEF,** Full member of the Group of Independent Experts on the European Charter of Local Self-Government

# Thursday 24 November 2016 Senglea

#### Senglea Local Council:

Mr Joseph CASHA, Mayor

## **Departure of the Congress Monitoring delegation**