

Ref. CG-PR 032 (2014)

Congress delegation carries out a high level visit to Ukraine

Strasbourg, 11 July 2014 – In the framework of its post-monitoring activities and further to the observation of pre-term local elections organised on 25 May, the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe, will carry out a high level visit to Ukraine on 17 and 18 July.

The delegation is composed of Herwig van Staa (Austria, EPP/CCE), President of the Congress, Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC) and Nataliya Romanova (Ukraine, ILDG) respectively presidents of the local and regional chambers of the Congress as well as the presidents of the Congress political groups and the Rapporteur on Ukraine. The aim of the visit is to hold an exchange of views with Ukrainian political representatives on the latest developments as regards the ongoing political crisis in the country as well as on decentralisation in light of the European Charter of Local Self-Government.

On 17 July, high level meetings are scheduled in Kyiv with government representatives, in particular Volodymyr Groysman, Vice Prime Minister and Minister of Regional Development, Construction and Municipal Economy of Ukraine and Vyacheslav Nehoda, First Deputy Minister for Regional Development, as well as with Iryna Geraschenko, Special Representative of the President for Donetsk and Luhansk, representatives of the President's Administration and the Verkhovna Rada.

The delegation will also meet the Mayor of Kyiv, Vitali Klitschko, and Mustafa Djemilev, leader of the Tatar community of Crimea.

On 18 July, the delegation will visit Odessa where it will exchange views with Gennadiy Trukhanov, Mayor of Odessa, with representatives of the Odessa Regional Council and the Governor of Odessa, Ihor Palytsia, as well as with members of the Ukrainian delegation to the Congress and associations of local and regional authorities.

The delegation will hold a press conference after its last meeting in Odessa on 18 July 2014 at 3:00 pm (tbc) in the Odessa Regional Council building.

Contact on the spot :	
Jean-Philippe Bozouls	Congress Secretariat,
	mobile: +33 672 754 297,
	jean-philippe.bozouls@coe.int
Svitlana Gryshchenko	Council of Europe office in Kyiv
	mobile +380 96 340 13 83
	Svitlana.Gryshchenko@coe.int

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions.

It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Herwig Van Staa (Austria, EPP/DC), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC), President of the Chamber of Regions: Nataliya Romanova (Ukraine, IDLG)

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG), European Conservatives & Reformists Group (ECR)