T +33(0)390214895

www.coe.int/congress

congress.web@coe.int

Ref. CG-PR 008 (2014)

## Congress delegation to observe the Dutch municipal elections on 19 March 2014

Strasbourg, 13 March 2014 - Further to the invitation by the Dutch Minister of Foreign Affairs, a delegation of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe will carry out a mission in the Netherlands to observe the municipal elections scheduled for 19 March 2014.

The Congress observation delegation - headed by the Winterthur Municipal Councillor Pearl Pedergnana, (Switzerland SOC) - is composed of 11 Congress members from 11 European countries, and will arrive on 16 March in Amsterdam.

On Monday, 17 March, the delegation will hold preparatory meetings with the Dutch Minister of the Interior and Kingdom Relations, Mr Ronald Plasterk, and experts from his Ministry in the Hague. There will be also an exchange of views with representatives of the Association of Netherlands Municipalities (VNG) and members of the Dutch delegation to the Congress.

On Tuesday, 18 March, the delegation will hold meetings with representatives of parties and municipal candidates in Amsterdam and members of the Dutch Electoral Council ("Kiesraad") in The Hague.

On Election Day, six deployment teams will observe the municipal elections in different districts and provinces of the country.

On Thursday, 20 March at 10:00, the Congress mission will be concluded by a briefing for media representatives (NH Hotel Carlton, Amsterdam, Paganini meeting room).

## **Members of Congress**

Pearl PEDERGNANA, (Switzerland, SOC) (Head of Delegation)
Alison COOK, (United Kingdom, ECR)
Matej GOMBOSI, (Slovenia, EPP-CCE)
Jaroslav HLINKA, (Slovak Republic, ILDG)
Sari JANATUINEN, (Finland, SOC)
Mihkel JUHKAMI, (Estonia, EPP-CCE)
David KATAMADZE, (Georgia, EPP-CCE)
Anna-Maria MAGYAR, (Hungary, EPP-CCE)
Vincent MCHUGH, (Ireland, ILDG)
Raymond TABONE (Malta, SOC)
Tomislav TOLUSIC; (Croatia, EPP-CCE)

## **Congress Secretariat**

Renate ZIKMUND – Head of Division, Local and Regional Election Observation Carol-Anne HUGHES – Assistant to the Congress Election Observation Mission

## Contact on the spot

Renate Zikmund, Head of the Division of Local and Regional Election Observation, Mobile: + 33 6 59 78 64 55, E-mail: Renate.ZIKMUND@coe.int

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Herwig Van Staa (Austria, EPP/DC), President of the Chamber of Regions: Nataliya

Romanova (Ukraine, IDLG), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC) Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG), European Conservatives & Reformists Group (ECR)