The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities



22 November 2013 PUBLIC

CONGRESS MONITORING VISIT TO Armenia Yerevan, Ashtarak and Oshakan (26 - 28 November 2013)

PROGRAMME

Congress delegation:	
Rapporteurs:	
Mr Nigel MERMAGEN	Co-rapporteur on Local Democracy Chamber of Local Authorities, ILDG ¹ Member of the Monitoring Committee of the Congress Councillor, South Somerset District Council (United Kingdom)
Ms Ludmila SFIRLOAGA	Co-rapporteur on Regional Democracy Chamber of Regions, SOC ¹ Member of the Monitoring Committee of the Congress Councillor, Prahova County Council (Romania)
Congress Secretariat:	
Mrs Stéphanie POIREL	Secretary to the Monitoring Committee of the Congress Mobile: +33 6 63 55 07 10, stephanie.poirel@coe.int
Ms Jane DUTTON-EARLY	Co-Secretary to the Monitoring Committe of the Congress Mission mobile: +33 (0)6.50 39 29.01 Email: jane.dutton-early@coe.int
Expert:	
Mr Zoltan SZENTE	Consultant (Hungary) Member of the Group of Independent Experts of the Congress on the European Charter of Local Self-Government
Interpreters:	
	Mr Khachatur ADUMYAN Ms Kristine KARAPETYAN

The working languages, for which interpretation is provided during the visit, will be Armenian and English.

* * *

Arrival of the Congress Delegation: 25 November 2013

¹L: Chamber of Local Authorities / R: Chamber of Regions

SOC: Socialist Group

ILDG: Independent Liberal and Democratic Group

Tuesday, 26 November 2013, Yerevan

Armenian Delegation to the Congress and Communities Association of Armenia

Mr Emin YERITSYAN, Head of the Armenian delegation to the Congress, President of the Association of Armenian Communities, Councilor of the Community of Parakar Mrs Lusine AVETYAN, Head of the Community of Kharahunj, Syunik Region Mrs Srbuhi HARUTYUNYAN, Head of Bazum Community Mrs Alina HARUTYUNYAN, Head, Community of Nor-Yerznka Mrs Armine MANUKYAN, Head of Shrvenanc Community Mr Vardan HOVHANNISYAN, Mayor of the City of Jermuk Mr Arayik PETROSYAN, Head of Arbat Community

Minister of Territorial Administration

Mr Armen GEVORGYAN, Vice Prime Minister of Republic of Armenia, Minister of Territorial Administration

Ministry of Finance

Mr Pavel SAFARYAN, First Deputy Minister, Ministry of Finance

Control Chamber of Republic of Armenia

Mr Ishkhan ZAKARYAN, Chairman of Republic of Armenia Control Chamber

Local NGOs and Associations

 Communities Finance Officers Association Mr Vahan MOVSISYAN, Chairman Mr David TUMANYAN, Deputy Chairman

Local NGOs and Associations

- Association of Municipal Councilors of Armenia
 Mr Arayik HOVHANNISYAN, President (Member of the Parliament)
 Mr Artak PETROSYAN, Vice-President
- Urban Foundation for Sustainable Development (UFSD) Ms Armine TUKHIKYAN, Chairperson Mr Armen VAROSYAN, Member of the Board of Trustees
- Local Democracy Agencies (LDA) Armenia
 Mrs Lusine ALEKSANDRYAN, Director

Wednesday, 27 November 2013, Yerevan

National Assembly of Republic of Armenia

Mr Eduard SHARMAZANOV, Vice-President of the National Assembly

Parliamentary Committees of the National Assembly of Republic of Armenia)

Mr Stepan MARGARYAN, Committee Chair on Territorial Management and Local Self-Government Mr Gagik MINASYAN, Committee Chair on Financial-Credit and Budgetary Affairs Ms Elinar VARDANYAN, Committee Chair on Protection of Human Rights and Public Affairs

Ministry of Justice

Mr Grigor MURADYAN, First Deputy Minister, Ministry of Justice of Republic of Armenia and Alternate member to the Venice Commission

City Hall Yerevan and Council of Elders

Mr Kamo AREYAN, First Deputy Mayor of Yerevan (RPA) Mr Sergey MKRTCHYAN, Head RPA faction Ms Tamara POGHOSYAN, Head PAP faction Ms Anahit BAKHSHYAN, Barev Yerevan faction

Human Rights Defender of the Republic of Armenia

Mr Karen ANDREASYAN, Human Rights Defender

International Organizations active in the sphere of Local Government

- United States Agency for International Development (USAID)
 Ms Bella MARKARIAN, Governance Sector Specialist, Democracy, Health and Social Reform
 Office, USAID/Armenia
- Counterpart International (funded by USAID) Mr Carel HOFSTRA, Chief of Party
- German Agency for International Cooperation (GIZ) Armenia Office Ms Dagmar BOTT, Country Director; Ms Meri SARGSYAN, GIZ Adviser Ms Hilke EBERT, Team Leader
- United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) in Armenia
 Ms Alla BAKUNTS, Democratic Governance Portfolio Analyst
- EU Delegation to Armenia Ms Monica PAPYAN, Project Manager

Thursday, 28 November 2013, Ashtarak and Oshakan

• City Hall of Ashtarak

Mr Armen ANTONYAN, Mayor

• City Hall of Oshakan

Mr Aram NERSISYAN, Mayor of Oshakan

Departure of the Congress Delegation: 29 November 2013