

T +33(0)390214895

www.coe.int/congress

congress.com@coe.int

Ref. CG-PR061(2013)

Congress delegation heading for a monitoring mission to assess grassroots democracy in the Netherlands

Strasbourg, 14.05.2013 - The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe will carry out a monitoring visit to the Netherlands from 14 to 16 May 2013. Congress Rapporteurs Artur Torres Pereira (Portugal, EPP/CCE) and Jean-Pierre Liouville (France, SOC) will examine the follow-up to the commitments undertaken in the field of territorial democracy and decentralisation, with regard to the Netherlands' ratification of the European Charter of Local Self-Government in 1991.

High level meetings are scheduled with representatives of the government, namely the State Secretary for Finance Frans Weekers, with representatives of the Ministry of the Interior and Kingdom Relations as well as with members of the Parliament, of the Council of State of the Netherlands, and representatives of the Audit offices and Ombudsmen.

The delegation will hold meetings with the Deputy Mayor of Amsterdam, representatives of the Municipality of Gouda and the Municipality of Zoeterwoude.

The delegation will also meet with members of the Dutch Delegation to the Congress and the Association of Netherlands Municipalities (VNG).

The report on local and regional democracy in the Netherlands should be discussed at the next Congress Session in March 2014.

More information on the European Charter of Local Self-Government

Contact on the spot:

Stéphanie Poirel: Secretary of the Monitoring Committee of the Congress Mobile: + 33 6 63 55 07 10 E-mail: <u>stephanie.poirel@coe.int</u>



The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Herwig Van Staa (Austria, EPP/DC), President of the Chamber of Regions: Nataliya Romanova (Ukraine, IDLG), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC) Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG), European Conservatives & Reformists Group (ECR)