T +33(0)390214895

www.coe.int/congress

congress.com@coe.int

Ref. CG-PR059(2013)

Congress to observe the elections for the Agavani (Assembly) of the City of Yerevan

Strasbourg 30 April 2013 - A delegation of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe headed by Rapporteur Stewart Dickson (United Kingdom, ILDG) and including three members of the EU Committee of the Regions will carry out a mission in Yerevan, Armenia to observe the elections for the Agavani (Assembly) of the City of Yerevan, scheduled for 5 May 2013.

The delegation will meet with representatives of the government, namely Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Territorial Administration, Armen Gevorgyan, the incumbent Mayor of Yerevan, Taron Margaryan, as well as election candidates and representatives of the Central Election Commission.

Meetings are also scheduled representatives of the Armenian delegation to the Congress, media, civil society and the international community.

On election day, the delegation will be deployed in different polling stations in the city.

A press Conference will be held on 6 May at 12:00 pm at the Armenia Marriott Hotel Yerevan (1 Amiryan Street, Yerevan, 0010 Armenia) to present preliminary conclusions of the mission.

Congress Members

Xavier CADORET, (France, SOC)
Stewart DICKSON, (United-Kingdom, ILDG), Head of delegation / Rapporteur Matej GOMBOSI, (Slovenia, EPP/CCE)
Alex LUBAWINSKI, (Germany, SOC)
Ludmila SFIRLOAGA, (Romania, SOC)
Matteo TOSCANI, (Italy, EPP/CCE)
Line Skøii VENNESLAND, (Norway, ECR)

Members of the EU Committee of the Regions

Doreen HUDDART, (United Kingdom ALDE/UK) Ursula Männle, (Germany EPP/DE) Uno SILBERG, (Estonia EA/EE)

Congress Secretariat

Renate ZIKMUND – Head of Division, Local and Regional Election Observation Carol-Anne HUGHES – Assistant to the Congress Election Observation Mission

Contact on the spot:

Renate Zikmund, Head of the Division of Local and Regional Election Observation, Mobile: + 33 6 59 78 64 55, E-mail: Renate.ZIKMUND@coe.int

Follow us: Selector You Tibe

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Herwig Van Staa (Austria, EPP/DC), President of the Chamber of Regions: Nataliya Romanova (Ukraine, IDLG), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC) Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG), European Conservatives & Reformists Group (ECR)