T +33(0)390214895

www.coe.int/congress

congress.com@coe.int

Ref. CG-PR029(2012)

## citizen participation Albania: Boosting in European Local **Democracy Week**

Strasbourg, 04.10.2012 - John Warmisham, member of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities and political co-ordinator of the European Local Democracy Week, will represent the Congress at the International Seminar "Strengthening citizens' democratic participation in decision-making at local level" to be held in Tirana on 5 October 2012. The event is part of the initiatives taking place during the Albanian Chairmanship of the Council of Europe and will launch the European Local Democracy Week (ELDW) in Albania.

Eminent personalities attending the meeting include Mrs. Afrida Domnori, Ministry of the Interior, Mrs. Zineb Touimi-Benjelloun, representative of the United Nations Development Programme in Tirana, and Mr. Alexander A. Arvizu, U.S. Ambassador to Albania. The mayors of Tirana (Mr. Lulmiz Basha), Berat (Mr. Fadil Naufi), Korça (Mr. Niko Peleshi), and Lezha (Mr. Viktor Tusha) will be sharing their experiences of the different participatory tools available to involve citizens in the local decision-making processes on urban planning, participatory budgeting, and other relevant areas.

The "European Local Democracy Week" (ELDW) is an annual European event, co-ordinated by the Council of Europe Congress, where local authorities from all the 47 member states of the Council of Europe organise public events to meet and engage with their citizens on issues of current interest. The aim is to promote and foster democratic participation at a local level.

Programme **EDLW** website





The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Keith Whitmore (United Kingdom, ILDG), President of the Chamber of Regions: Herwig van Staa (Austria, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC)

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party - Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).