T +33(0)390214895

www.coe.int/congress

congress.com@coe.int

Ref. CG-PR011(2012)

Congress Vice-President pays official visit to San Marino

Strasbourg, 25 April 2012 - San Marino is, together with Monaco, one of the last two member states of the Council of Europe that has not yet signed the European Charter for Local Self-Government.

The President of the Chamber of Local Authorities of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe, Mr Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC), will pay an official visit to San Marino on 26 April to discuss opportunities for future co-operation and, in particular, the possible signature of the Charter by San Marino.

During the visit, Mr Frécon will meet Ms Antonella Mularoni, Foreign Minister of San Marino, and Mr Augusto Casali, Secretary of State for Relations with Township Councils. A meeting with the Captains Regent Mr Maurizio Rattini and Mr Italo Righi is also scheduled at the Palazzo Pubblico, where Mr Frécon will address San Marino's political establishment and exchange views with San Marino's delegation to the Congress.

Mr Frécon will be accompanied by Mr Jean-Philippe Bozouls, Executive Secretary of the Chamber of Local Authorities of the Congress.

Contact in San Marino:

Jean-Philippe Bozouls, **Executive Secretary** Mobile: +33 (6) 72 75 42 97





The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Keith Whitmore (United Kingdom, ILDG), President of the Chamber of Regions: Herwig van Staa (Austria, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC)

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party - Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).