T +33388413193 F +33390214134 http://assembly.coe.int pace.com@coe.int

Ref. PACE 071 (2012)

Joint statement on the situation in Syria by PACE President and Chair of its Political Affairs Committee

Strasbourg, 10.04.2012 – Jean-Claude Mignon, President of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE), and Pietro Marcenaro (Italy, SOC), Chair of the Assembly's Committee on Political Affairs and Democracy, have issued the following joint statement on the latest developments in Syria:

"There have been more than a hundred deaths yesterday again in Syria. Once more, the regime of Bashir Al-Assad has violated the commitments it undertook and the assurances it gave to end the massacre which, for more than a year, has led to bloodshed and the deaths of more than 11 000 people.

Hopes that the mediation of the Special Envoy of the United Nations and the Arab League, Kofi Annan, would lead to a political solution are rapidly fading.

A regime without any future, stripped of all legitimacy and credibility, both internally and internationally, continues to hold the Syrian people hostage and to block a peaceful outcome.

Nothing can be expected from this regime: the only solution rests with the international community and domestic opposition:

- the international community should unite and seek effective action with determination. A special responsibility lies with those states such as Russia and China which initially blocked a resolution within the UN Security Council;
- the domestic opposition should unite and offer all Syrian citizens, of any ethnic origin, culture and religion, the prospect of a peaceful, democratic and pluralist Syria.

In the light of these developments, we believe it is essential that the Assembly debate the situation in Syria under urgent procedure, during its next part-session, as already requested by its Committee on Political Affairs and Democracy."



The Assembly brings together 318 members from the national parliaments of the 47 member states. President: Jean-Claude Mignon (EPP/CD) - Secretary General of the Assembly: Wojciech Sawicki. Political groups: EPP/CD (Group of the European People's Party); SOC (Socialist Group); EDG (European Democrat Group); ALDE (Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe); UEL (Group of the Unified European Left).