Press release – 325(2006)

Presidents of Congress Statutory Committees newly elected

Strasbourg, 02.06.2006 – At its plenary session, the Council of Europe Congress elected the new Presidents of its Statutory Committees.

Institutional Committee
Chair: WHITMORE Keith, United Kingdom (ILDG)
Vice-Chair: BEHR Karsten, Germany (EPP/CD)
 Vice-Chair PEREVERZEVA Irina, Russian Federation (SOC)

Committee on culture and education
Chair:  ZACH Hilde Austria (EPP/CD)
Vice-Chair: FÄLDT Brith, Sweden (SOC)
Vice-Chair:  MUKHAMETSHIN Farid, Russian Federation (ILDG)

Committee on sustainable development
Chair:  DOGANOGLU Gaye, Turkey (EPP/CD)
Vice-Chair:  KADOKHOV Valery, Russian Federation (SOC)
Vice-Chair: VAN VAERENBERGH Etienne, Belgium (ILDG)

Committee on social cohesion
Chair : PRIGNACHI Valerio, Italy (EPP/CD)
Vice-Chair: HAIDER Erich, Austria (SOC)
Vice-Chair: ROGOV Viatcheslav, Russian Federation (ILDG)

More information about the structure and work of Committees:

Council of Europe Press Division
Tel: +33 (0)3 88 41 25 60
Fax:+33 (0)3 88 41 39 11