## Ress Release

## **Council of Europe Press Division**

Ref: 272a06

Tel: +33 (0)3 88 41 25 60 Fax:+33 (0)3 88 41 39 11

pressunit@coe.int

internet: www.coe.int/press



## Committee of Ministers adopts fourth interim resolution in the case of Ilascu and others against Moldova and the Russian Federation

Strasbourg, 11.05.2006 - The Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe has just adopted a <u>fourth interim resolution</u> concerning the execution of the judgment of the European Court of Human Rights in the case of Ilascu and others against Moldova and the Russian Federation, which was delivered on 8 July 2004. In its judgment, the Court held in particular that the two respondent States are to take all necessary measures to put an end to the arbitrary detention of the applicants still imprisoned and secure their immediate release.

To date, two applicants, Mr Ivantoc and Mr Petrov-Popa, are still in prison.

The previous interim resolutions concerning this case were adopted by the Committee of Ministers respectively on 22 April 2005 (Resolution ResDH(2005)42), 13 July 2005 (Resolution ResDH(2005)84) and 1 March 2006 (Resolution ResDH(2006)11).

In the fourth interim resolution, the Committee of Ministers, in particular:

- encourages the authorities of the Republic of Moldova to continue their efforts towards putting an end to the arbitrary detention of the applicants still imprisoned and securing their immediate release;
- declares the Committee's resolve to ensure, with all means available to the Organisation, the compliance by the Russian Federation with its obligations under this judgment;
- calls upon the authorities of the member states to take such action as they deem appropriate to this end.

\*\*\*

Under the European Convention on Human Rights, the European Court's judgments require the adoption by the respondent states, under the Committee of Ministers' supervision, of all measures necessary to grant the applicants appropriate redress and to prevent new similar violations in the future.

## 46 members

Albania
Andorra
Armenia
Austria
Azerbaijan
Belgium
Bosnia and
Herzegovina
Bulgaria
Croatia
Cyprus

Cyprus
Czech Republic
Denmark
Estonia
Finland
France
Georgia
Germany

Greece
Hungary
Iceland
Ireland
Italy
Latvia
Liechtenstein
Lithuania

Luxembourg
Malta
Moldova
Monaco
Netherlands
Norway
Poland
Portugal
Romania
Russia
San Marino

Montenegro Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland

Serbia and

"The former Yugoslav

"The former Yug Republic of Macedonia" Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom