Ress Release

Council of Europe Press Division

Ref: 205a06

Tel: +33 (0)3 88 41 25 60 Fax:+33 (0)3 88 41 39 11

pressunit@coe.int

internet: www.coe.int/press



Detention and expulsion of aliens: Belgium encouraged to continue to pursue reforms in line with the ECHR

Strasbourg, 07.04.2006 - The Committee of Ministers adopted on Wednesday an Interim Resolution encouraging Belgium to pursue the broad reform of the *Conseil d'Etat* and of proceedings relating so as to aliens undertaken to ensure full respect of the European Convention of Human Rights.

The Committee also noted with satisfaction the interim measures swiftly taken by Belgium to that effect, including the circular of the Minister of the Interior to the Aliens Office and a Royal Decree laying down the system and operating rules of the detention centres managed by the Aliens Office.

The above reforms are in response to the judgment of 12 February 2002 of the European Court of Human Rights' in the *Čonka v. Belgium* case, concerning various violations of the Convention relating to the conditions of arrest and detention of a group of asylum seekers and their collective expulsion, as well as the haphazard treatment of the appeals they had lodged in this connection.

Full text of the Committee's Resolution

Under the European Convention on Human Rights, the European Court's judgments require the adoption by the respondent states, under the Committee supervision, of all measures necessary to grant the applicants appropriate redress and to prevent new similar violations in the future (http://www.coe.int/T/E/Human Rights/execution/).

46 members

Albania
Andorra
Armenia
Austria
Azerbaijan
Belgium
Bosnia and
Herzegovina
Bulgaria
Croatia
Cyprus
Czech Republic
Denmark
Estonia

Denmark
Estonia
Finland
France
Georgia
Germany
Greece
Hungary
Iceland
Ireland
Italy
Latvia
Liechtenstein
Lithuania

Luxembourg
Malta
Moldova
Monaco
Netherlands
Norway
Poland
Portugal
Romania
Russia
San Marino
Serbia and
Montenegro
Slovakia

Switzerland "The former Yugoslav

Slovenia Spain Sweden

Republic of Macedonia" Turkey Ukraine

United Kingdom