Ress **R**elease

Parliamentary Assembly Communication Unit

Ref: 026a06 Tel: +33 3 88 41 31 93 Fax :+33 3 90 21 41 34 pace.com@coe.int internet: www.coe.int/press



46 members

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova Monaco Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia and Montenegro Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland "The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom

PACE to observe election of the Palestinian Legislative Council

Strasbourg 18.01.2006 - A 9-member Council of Europe Parliamentary Assembly (PACE) delegation (*), lead by Lord Russell-Johnston (United Kingdom, ADLE), will observe the election of the Palestinian Legislative Council to be held on 25 January 2006.

During their visit to Ramallah and Jerusalem, from 23 to 26 January, the parliamentarians will meet with representatives of the political parties, the President of the Palestinian Authority, the Prime Minister, the Speaker of the Palestinian Legislative Council and the Chair of the Central Electoral Commission, as well as with representatives of the European Union Mission, the United Nations and NGO's.

On the election day, PACE observers will be deployed in both the West Bank and Gaza.

Contact in Jerusalem:

Farida Jamal, PACE Interparliamentary co-operation unit, +33 662 139 351

(*)The members of the delegation are:

Lord RUSSELL-JOHNSTON,

Head of Delegation

Socialist group (SOC)Fatima ABURTOJosette DURRIEURuth-Gaby VERMOT-MANGOLD

Spain France Switzerland

Group of the European People's Party (EPP/CD) Renzo GUBERT Italy

Alliance of Liberals and Democratsfor Europe (ALDE)Lord RUSSELL-JOHNSTONUnited KingdomMaximilian REIMANNSwitzerland

European Democrat Group (EDGMikhail MARGELOVFToomas ALATALUE

Russia Estonia

Group of the Unified European Left (UEL) Tiny KOX Netherlands

The Parliamentary Assembly brings together 315 members from the national parliaments of the 46 member states. President: René van der Linden (Netherlands, EPP/CD); Secretary General of the Assembly: Bruno Haller. Political Groups: SOC (Socialist Group); EPP/CD (Group of the European People's Party); ALDE (Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe); EDG (European Democratic Group); UEL (Group of the Unified European Left).