Ress Release

Council of Europe Press Division

Ref: 640a04

Tel: +33 (0)3 88 41 25 60 Fax:+33 (0)3 88 41 39 11

pressunit@coe.int

internet: www.coe.int/press



46 members

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France

Estonia
Finland
France
Georgia
Germany
Greece
Hungary
Iceland
Ireland
Italy
Latvia
Liechtenstein
Lithuania
Luxembourg
Malta
Moldova
Monaco

Moldova Monaco Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino

Serbia and Montenegro Slovakia

Slovenia Spain Sweden

Switzerland "The former Yugoslav

"The former Yugo: Republic of Macedonia" Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom

Council of Europe Congress to observe local elections in Azerbaijan

Strasbourg, 16.12.2004 – A ten-member delegation of the Council of Europe's Congress of Local and Regional Authorities will observe the local elections to be held in Azerbaijan on 17 December, at the invitation of the chairman of the country's Central Electoral Commission, Mazahir Panahov.

The Congress delegation (*) - led by Wim Van Gelder (EPP/CD, Chamber of Regions, Netherlands) - arrived in the country on 13 December to meet the main candidates, NGO representatives and various other prominent figures.

Particular attention will be paid to the electoral campaign, the implementation of existing legislation, the media situation and the work of the Central Electoral Commission and relevant public authorities. On election day, the members of the delegation will be deployed throughout the country.

In a statement adopted on 10 December, the Bureau of the Congress called on the Azeri authorities to conform with the Council of Europe's democratic standards, in particular the European Charter of Self-Government. The statement also urged the opposition parties not to boycott the elections.

A press conference will be held at **2 pm on 18 December** at the Council of Europe Information Office in Baku (39-41 Boyuk Gala Kuchasi, Icheri Sheher, tel. + 994 12 497 54 93).

To receive our press releases by e-mail, contact: Council.of.Europe.Press@coe.int

^(*) The other members of the delegation are: Sean O'Brien (SOC, L, Ireland), Fabio Pellegrini (SOC, L, Italy), Jean-Claude Frecon (SOC, L, France), Mohammmad Nazir (SOC, R, United Kingdom), Joseph Borg (EPP/CD, R, Malte), Brith Fäldt (SOC, L, Sweden), Christopher Newbury (EPP/CD, L, United Kingdom), Bernard Suaud (ILDG, France) and Omur Aybar (Turkey).