T +33(0)390214895

www.coe.int/congress

congress.web@coe.int

Ref. CG-PR 48 (2015)

Polish and Ukrainian Delegations to the Congress: Signature of a Joint Declaration Adoption on co-operation consistent with the values of the European Charter of Local Self-Government

Strasbourg, 22.10.2015 - On the occasion of the 29th Session of the Congress, on 21 October 2015 in Strasbourg, France, Dariusz Wrobel, President of the Polish delegation, and Oleksii Reznikov, President of the Ukrainian delegation, have solemnly signed the Joint Declaration adopted at the meeting of the Monitoring Committee in Warsaw (Poland) on 17 September 2015.

The Polish and Ukrainian delegations to the Congress declared that they:

- share the values of well-functioning local democracy and agree on the need for decentralisation of powers;
- wish to further develop their co-operation in order to improve the situation of local and regional democracy in their respective countries, drawing inspiration from their good practices.

Furthermore, referring to the two countries' shared history, the delegations declared their mutual solidarity and support in the sound management of their territories on the basis of the European Charter of Local Self-Government and good practices relating to decentralisation, with due respect for the territorial integrity and sovereignty of states.

Photo gallery

File: Signature meeting of the Monitoring Committee in Warsaw (Poland) on 17 September 2015

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 324 full and 324 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Anders Knape (Sweden, EPP/CCE), President of the Chamber of Regions: Gudrun Mosler-Törnström (Austria, SOC)

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG), European Conservatives & Reformists Group (ECR)