

Ref. CG-PR 003 (2015)

Monitoring visit by the Congress to Luxembourg

Strasbourg, 4 March 2015 – A delegation from the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe is to make a monitoring visit to Luxembourg from 3 to 5 March. Congress rapporteurs Dorin Chirtoacă (Republic of Moldova, EPP/CCE) and Marianne Hollinger (Switzerland, ILDG) will examine the follow-up action taken on the commitments made by Luxembourg in the sphere of local democracy and devolution when it ratified the European Charter of Local Self-Government in 1987.

On 3 and 4 March, high-level meetings are scheduled in Luxembourg. The delegation will meet, in particular, Dan Kersch, Minister of the Interior, Viviane Ecker, President of the Council of State, Mars di Bartolomeo, President of the Chamber of Deputies, Georges Santer, President of the Constitutional Court, and Anne Brasseur, President of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe and an MP representing the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

The delegation will also be meeting Lydie Err, Ombudsman of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, the mayors of the municipalities of Luxembourg, Schengen and Schuttrange and some representatives of the Luxembourg delegation to the Congress.

Luxembourg was the first Member State to ratify the European Charter of Local Self-Government. The countries which have ratified the Charter are bound by its provisions. The Charter requires compliance with a minimum number of rights which form the European foundation for local self-government. The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe makes sure that these principles are observed.

File on "Monitoring of local and regional democracy"

European Charter of Local Self-Government

Contact on the spot:

Stéphanie Poirel, Secretary to the Congress Monitoring Committee, Mobile: +33 3 90 21 51 84, E-mail: Stephanie.poirel@coe.int

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Anders Knape (Sweden, EPP/CCE), President of the Chamber of Regions: Gudrun Mosler-Törnström (Austria, SOC)

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG), European Conservatives & Reformists Group (ECR)