

Ref. CG-PR 048 (2014)

## **Council of Europe Congress elects new leadership**

Strasbourg, 15 October 2014 - The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe has a renewed leadership voted in at its 27th Session. The term of office for leadership positions is 2 years.

### PRESIDENT OF THE CONGRESS: Jean-Claude FRÉCON (SOC, France)

### CHAMBER LEADERSHIP

#### President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Anders KNAPE (Sweden, EPP/CCE)

1st Vice-President: Barbara TOCE (Italy, SOC) 2nd. Vice-President: Jolanta BARSKA (Poland, EPP/CCE) 3rd Vice-President: Jaroslav HLINKA (Slovak Republic, ILDG) 4th Vice-President: Gaye DOGANOGLU (Turkey EPP/CCE) 5th Vice-President: Mary HEGARTY (Ireland /EPP/CCE) 6th Vice-President: John WARMISHAM (United Kingdom, SOC) 7th Vice-President: Juliana HOXHA (Albania, SOC)

# President of the Chamber of Regions: Gudrun MOSLER-TÖRNSTRÖM, (Austria, SOC)

1st Vice-President: Clemens LAMMERSKITTEN, (Germany, EPP/CCE) 2nd Vice-President: Gunn Marit HELGESEN, (Norway EPP/CCE) 3rd Vice-president: Helena PIHLAJASAARI, (Finland, SOC) 4th Vice-president: Jean-Marie BELLIARD, (France, EPP/CCE) 5th Vice-president: Leen VERBEEK, (Netherlands, SOC) 6th Vice-president: Nataliya ROMANOVA, (Ukraine, ILDG) 7e Vice-president: Svetlana ORLOVA, (Russian Federation, EPP/CCE)

The 2 Presidents of the two Chambers and the 14 Vice-Presidents of these Chambers are Vice-Presidents of the Congress.

#### **COMMITTEE LEADERSHIP**

Chair of the Monitoring Committee: Philippe RECEVEUR (Switzerland EPP-CCE) Vice-Chairs of the Committee

Chair of the Governance Committee: Tracey SIMPSON-LAING, (United Kingdom, SOC) Vice-Chairs of the Committee

Chair of the Current Affairs Committee: Farid MUKHAMETSIN, (Russian Federation /ILDG) Vice-Chairs of the Committee

#### POLITICAL GROUP LEADERSHIP

There are four political groups in the new Congress, as well as a Group of members with no political affiliation (NR).

#### President of the Group European People's party (EPP-CCE):

Artur TORRES PEREIRA, Portugal

#### President of the Socialist Group (SOC):

Karl-Heinz LAMBERTZ, Belgium

#### President of the Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG): Marc COOLS, Belgium

**President of the European Conservatives & Reformists Group (ECR):** Halldor HALLDORSSON, Iceland

<u>Who's who of the Congress</u> <u>File on the elections</u> <u>File on the 27th Congress Session</u>

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Anders Knape (Sweden, EPP/CCE), President of the Chamber of Regions: Gudrun Mosler-Törnström (Austria, SOC)

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG), European Conservatives & Reformists Group (ECR)