T +33(0)390214895

www.coe.int/congress

congress.web@coe.int

Ref. CG-PR 045 (2014)

Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC) elected President of the Congress

Strasbourg, 14.10.2014 – The members of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities, meeting at the 27th Session in Strasbourg (France), today elected Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC) by acclamation as President for a two-year term of office.

Jean-Claude Frécon is a French Senator and a municipal councillor in Pouilly-lès-Feurs (Rhône-Alpes), where he also held the office of mayor for many years.

"It is by being as close as possible to our fellow citizens and experiencing their problems that we can best represent them in our national and European assemblies", said the new Congress President.

"I believe that, through the political dialogue it has established with governments and, here in Strasbourg, with the Committee of Ministers and the Parliamentary Assembly, in line with the policy directions set by the Secretary General of the Council of Europe, the Congress can persuade central governments to establish and protect local and regional democracy more effectively throughout Europe."

He stressed that while the Congress campaigns for local and regional self-government, that self-government must operate within appropriate parameters and be based on national dialogue in order to move towards better management of our regions on behalf of all our citizens.

"It is up to us as members of the Congress to make this peaceful, democratic and responsible approach to self-government work in reality because, ultimately, that is the only Europe in which we want to live and which we want to pass on to our children."

A Congress member since 1994, Mr Frécon became Vice-President in 2002, headed the French delegation to the Congress from 2004 to 2012 and had been President of the Chamber of Local Authorities since 2010.

File "27th Session"

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Anders Knape (Sweden, EPP/CCE), President of the Chamber of Regions: Gudrun Mosler-Törnström (Austria, SOC)

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG), European Conservatives & Reformists Group (ECR)