

Ref. CG-PR 039(2014)

Congress visit to monitor local and regional democracy in Greece

Strasbourg, 16 September 2014 – A delegation of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe, composed of Arthur Torres Pereira (Portugal EPP/CCE) and Gudrun Mosler-Törnström (Austria, SOC), will carry out a monitoring visit in Greece from 16 to 17 September. The main goal is to examine the commitments made by Greece in the area of local and regional democracy and decentralization when it ratified the European Charter of Local Self-Government in 1989.

On 16 September, high-level meetings are foreseen in Athens, notably with Kyriakos Mitsotakis, Administrative Reform and E-governance Minister, Gikas Hardouvelis, Finance Minister, as well as Argyris Dinopoulos, Minister of the Interior.

On 17 September, the delegation will meet with Evangelos - Vasileios Meimarakis, President of the Greek Parliament, Sotirios Al. Rizos, President of the Council of State, N. Aggelaras, President of the Hellenic Court of Audit, Vasilis Sotiropoulos, Ombudsman of the City of Athens, as well as John Sayas, Deputy Ombudsman of Greece.

The Delegation will also meet with several members of the Greek national delegation to the Congress.

Greece ratified the European Charter of Local Self-Government on 6 September 1989. The Charter imposes compliance with a minimum number of rights, which are the European bedrock of local self-government. The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe ensures respect for these principles.

- File "Monitoring local and regional democracy"
- European Charter of Local Self-Government

Contact:

Stéphanie Poirel, Secretary of the Monitoring Committee of the Congress Tel: + 33 (0) 3 88 41 30 25 Portable : +33 6 63 55 07 10 <u>Stephanie.poirel@coe.int</u>

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions.

It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Herwig Van Staa (Austria, EPP/DC), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC), President of the Chamber of Regions: Nataliya Romanova (Ukraine, IDLG)

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG), European Conservatives & Reformists Group (ECR)