T +33(0)390214895

www.coe.int/congress

congress.web@coe.int

Ref. CG-PR071(2013)

## Yerevan: International Conference of capital cities of the Council of **Europe member States**

Strasbourg, 09.10.2013 - On 11 October 2013 an International Conference of capital cities of the Council of Europe member states will be held in Yerevan, Armenia. The conference is co-organised by the Armenian Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe and the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities, in close co-operation with the municipality of Yerevan

It will address the issues related to the particular role of capital cities and metropolises in the overall development of local democracy and in political, economic, social and cultural life. The Conference will also be an opportunity for an exchange of good practice and the progress achieved in member States of the Council of Europe.

Mayors and Deputy Mayors of the capital cities of the Council of Europe member states, the representatives of municipalities, of relevant state structures, local self-government bodies and the civil society, as well as international and local experts will participate in the Conference.

John Warmisham, Vice-President of the Congress, Armen Gevorgyan, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Territorial Administration of Armenia, and Taron Margaryan, Mayor of Yerevan, will open the conference.

The discussions will be organised around following main topics: the growing role of capital cities and the quality of life; the institutional capacity of capital cities to address the challenges of the quality of life.

Conclusions of the sessions will be presented at the end of the conference which will be closed by John Warmisham and Kamo Areyan, the First Deputy Mayor of Yerevan.

## Venue of the Conference:

The National Gallery of the Republic of Armenia - Arami street 1, Yerevan

## Contact:

Congress of Local and Regional Authorities Tim Lisney Secretary of the Governance Committee

Tel: +33 3 88 41 35 73 Email: tim.lisney@coe.int





The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial

President of the Congress: Herwig Van Staa (Austria, EPP/DC), President of the Chamber of Regions: Nataliya Romanova (Ukraine, IDLG), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC) Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party - Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG), European Conservatives & Reformists Group