

Ref. CG-PR051(2013)

# Congress to observe local elections in "The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia"

Strasbourg, 19 March 2013 - A delegation of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe, headed by Rapporteur Jüri LANDBERG, Estonia (L, ILDG) - including members of the EU-Committee of the Regions– will carry out an observation of election mission to "The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" from 21 to 25 March 2013 and observe the vote on 24 March. A pre-electoral mission already took place from 24 to 27 February 2013.

On 21 and 22 March, the delegation will meet, in particular, with Tahir Hani, Minister of Local Self-Government; Boris Kondarko, President of the State Election Commission, as well as Ambassador Ralf Breth, Head of the OSCE Mission to Skopje and Ambassador Geert-Hinrich Ahrens, Head of the OSCE/ODIHR Elections Observation Mission for the Municipal Elections 2013. In addition, meetings are scheduled with other representatives of the diplomatic community in Skopje, NGOs and the media.

On 23 March, field meetings are planned with members of Municipal Electoral Committees, international and domestic observers and with candidates for the local elections. On Election Day, eight Congress teams will be deployed to different areas to observe these local elections throughout the country.

The Congress delegation will present its preliminary findings in a press conference on Monday 25 March 2013 at 15:00 local time – in the Alexander Palace Hotel, Skopje.

## Members of the delegation

### **Congress Members**

- Jüri LANDBERG, Estonia, Head of delegation / Rapporteur (L, ILDG)
- Andrée BUCHMANN, France (R, SOC)
- · Ivo EMIC, Croatia (L, EPP/ CCE)
- Antonio EROI, Italy (L, EPP/ CCE)
- Matej GOMBOSI, Slovenia (L, EPP/ CCE)
- · Vitaliy OLUYKO, Ukraine (R, SOC)
- Pearl PEDERGNANA, Switzerland (L, SOC)
- Hana RICHTERMOCOVA, Czech Republic (L, ECR)
- Jean-Louis TESTUD, France (L, EPP/CCE)
- Jan VAN ZANEN, The Netherlands (L, ILDG)

## **EU - Committee of the Regions**

· Arnoldas ABRAMAVICIUS, Lithuania (LT/EPP)

- Joseph CORDINA, Malta, (MT/PES)
- · Jens Arne HEDEGAARD, Denmark (DK/ALDE)
- · Stewart MAXWELL, United Kingdom (EA)

#### **Congress secretariat**

Renate ZIKMUND, Head of the Division of Local and Regional Election Observation Jane DUTTON-EARLY, Assistant to the Election Observation Mission

#### Contact on spot

Renate Zikmund, Head of the Division of Local and Regional Election Observation, Mobile: + 33 6 59 78 64 55, E-mail: Renate.ZIKMUND@coe.int

Follow us: 🔊 🕒 flickr You Tube

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Herwig Van Staa (Austria, EPP/DC), President of the Chamber of Regions: Nataliya Romanova (Ukraine, IDLG), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC) Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG), European Conservatives & Reformists Group (ECR)