

T +33(0)390214895

www.coe.int/congress

congress.com@coe.int

Ref. CG-PR043(2013)

Principality of Monaco signs and ratifies the European Charter of Local Self-Government

Strasbourg, 10.01.2013 - The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe welcomes the simultaneous signature and ratification of the European Charter of Local Self-Government by the Principality of Monaco on 10 January 2013. This text will come into force in respect of Monaco on 1 May 2013. Thus the Principality has joined the 45 Council of Europe countries which have already signed this international treaty.

The President of the Congress, Herwig Van Staa (Austria, EPP/ECC), pointed out that the ratification of the Charter by the Principality of Monaco illustrates the importance of the principles laid down in that treaty, which applies irrespective of a State's size. This ratification, moreover, comes just a short time after ratification by the Principality of Andorra.

"By signing and ratifying the Charter, the Principality of Monaco is joining the family of European nations committed to the implementation of this treaty's principles", said the President of the Chamber of Local Authorities of the Congress, Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC). "We very much hope that Monaco's decision to ratify the Charter will encourage the Republic of San Marino to follow suit, so that this treaty will have been ratified by all the Council of Europe's member States. Application of the Charter across '100% of European territory' is in fact one of the major objectives of the Congress."

The European Charter of Local Self-Government was opened as a Convention for signature by Council of Europe member states 28 years ago, on 15 October 1985, and came into force on 1 September 1988. The text, which affirms the role of local authorities as the first tier for the exercise of democracy, has become a unique international reference instrument in this field. The Charter requires compliance with a minimum set of rights, which thus constitutes the first European foundation stone of local self-government.

The Congress of the Council of Europe ensures that the principles laid down in the Charter and its Additional Protocol are complied with, through regular monitoring of the situation of local democracy in Europe. It thus promotes at local and regional levels the fundamental objectives of the Council of Europe, which are to achieve progress in democracy and human rights.



The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Herwig Van Staa (Austria, EPP/DC), President of the Chamber of Regions: Nataliya Romanova (Ukraine, IDLG), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC) Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG), European Conservatives & Reformists Group (ECR)