T +33(0)390214895

www.coe.int/congress

congress.com@coe.int

Ref. CG-PR027(2012)

# Congress delegation to monitor situation of democracy at the grassroots in Ireland

Strasbourg, 1 October 2012. - The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe will carry out a monitoring visit in Ireland from 3 to 5 October 2012. The monitoring mission will examine the compliance of the commitments of Ireland following its ratification of the European Charter of Local Self-Government in 2002. This visit will also provide the opportunity to update the previous Recommendation on local democracy in Ireland adopted by the Congress in 2001.

Congress Rapporteurs Michael COHEN, Malta (L, SOC), and Merita JEGENI YILDIZ, Turkey (R, EPP/CD), will hold meetings in Dublin, in particular, with Phil HOGAN, Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government.

An exchange of views will be held with Naoise O'MUIRÍ, the Lord Mayor of Dublin, Barbara MURRAY, Mayor of Cork County and John BUTTIMER, Lord Mayor of Cork, and with city and county councillors. The delegation will meet Susan Denham, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court and Nicholas Kearns, the President of the High Court as well as other officials. They will also meet with members of Trim Town and Meath County councillors and representatives of local and regional associations.

The report on the situation of local and regional democracy in Ireland will be submitted for approval at a meeting of the Monitoring Committee in 2013 and subsequently debated at a Congress Session.

## Members of the delegation

#### Rapporteurs:

Michael COHEN, Malta (L, SOC) Merita JEGENI YILDIZ, Turkey (R, EPP/CD)

## Expert:

Juraj NEMEC, Slovak Republic

## Contact on the spot

Sedef CANKOÇAK, Co-Secretary of the Monitoring Committee of the Congress

E-mail: <a href="mailto:sedef.cankocak@coe.int">sedef.cankocak@coe.int</a> Mission mobile: +33 (0)6 50 39 29 01

Tel. Office in Strasbourg: + 33 (0)3 88 41 30 25



The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Keith Whitmore (United Kingdom, ILDG), President of the Chamber of Regions: Herwig van Staa (Austria, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC)

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party - Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).