T +33(0)390214895

www.coe.int/congress

congress.com@coe.int

Ref. CG-PR021(2012)

# Congress pre-election delegation heads for Bosnia and Herzegovina

Strasbourg, 14 September 2012 - A delegation of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe, headed by Rapporteur Amy KOOPMANSCHAP, Netherlands (L, SOC) - including a member of the Committee of the Regions of the European Union - will carry out a pre-electoral mission to Bosnia and Herzegovina from 17 to 19 September 2012. This mission is organised in view of the local elections to be held in the country on 7 October 2012. At this stage, a larger Congress delegation will be deployed to observe the vote.

On 18 September, briefings are planned, in particular, with representatives from the Ministry of Administration and Local Self Government of Republika Srpska and the Ministry of Justice of the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina (FBiH), as well as the Association of the Cities and Municipalities of the FBiH.

The delegation will also exchange views with representatives of the Democratic Institute for Europe and NGOs. There will be a briefing on the current situation in Srebrenica.

On 19 September, meetings are planned with Alija BEHMEN, Mayor of Sarajevo, Valentin INZKO, High Representative in Bosnia and Herzegovina and with the President of the BiH Central Election Commission, Branko PETRIC. In addition, the delegation will meet the representatives of the BiH Ombudsman's Office, international organisations, the media and with candidates for local elections.

# Members of the delegation

#### Congress:

Amy KOOPMANSCHAP, Netherlands (L, SOC), Head of delegation Britt-Marie LÖVGREN, Sweden (L, ILDG) Teresa ARCINIEGA, Spain (R, EPP/CD) Renate ZIKMUND, Head of the Division of Communication and Election Observation Jane DUTTON-EARLY, Assistant to the Election Observation Mission

## EU-Committee of the Regions:

UNO SILBERG, Estonia (EA)

## **Contacts on the spot**

Council of Europe Office in Sarajevo Mary Ann HENNESSEY, Head of Office

Tel: + 387 33 233 938

E-mail: mary-ann.hennessey@coe.int

Division of Communication and Election Observation, Congress of the Council of Europe, Strasbourg

Renate Zikmund, Head of the Division of Communication and Election Observation

mobile: + 33 6 59 78 64 55 E-mail: Renate.ZIKMUND@coe.int





The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Keith Whitmore (United Kingdom, ILDG), President of the Chamber of Regions: Herwig van Staa (Austria, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC)

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).