T +33(0)390214895

www.coe.int/congress

congress.com@coe.int

Ref. CG-PR017(2012)

Congress visit to monitor local and regional democracy in Georgia

Strasbourg, 08.06.2012 - A Congress delegation led by Ian Micallef (Malta, Chamber of Local Authorities, EPP/DC) and Helena Pihlajasaari (Finland, Chamber of Regions SOC) is to carry out a monitoring mission from 11 to 13 June 2012 to assess the state of local and regional democracy in Georgia. This is the second general monitoring visit to the country since it ratified the European Charter of Local Self-Government in 2004.

The members of the delegation will visit the Autonomous Republic of Adjara where they will meet the Head of the Government and the Minister of Finance, as well as the Mayors of Batumi, Kobulete, Khelvcahuri and Shuakhevi. They will also have an exchange of views Constitutional Court iudaes of the of Georgia The delegation will meet with the Georgian delegation to the Congress and the representatives of the National Association of Local Authorities. An exchange of views with the President and members of the national parliament and the Mayors of Tbilisi and Rustavi is also on the agenda.

A meeting with the Vice-Premier Minister and State Minister for Reintegration and the Minister of Regional Development and Infrastructure is foreseen. The delegation will also visit the Chamber of Control of Georgia (Court of Auditors) and meet with the Ombudsman. A draft recommendation will be submitted for approval to the Monitoring Committee¹ in October 2012 and for adoption to the Congress March session in 2013.

Contact on the spot

Sedef Cankoçak, Co-Secretary to the Congress Monitoring Committee Mobile: + 33 6 50 39 29 01



The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Keith Whitmore (United Kingdom, ILDG), President of the Chamber of Regions: Herwig van Staa (Austria, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party - Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).

¹ Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by member states of the European Charter of Local Self-Government, referred to as the "Monitoring Committee".