T +33(0)390214895

www.coe.int/congress

congress.com@coe.int

Ref. CG-PR015(2012)

Congress visit to monitor local and regional democracy in Spain

Strasbourg, 04.06.2012 - A delegation of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe will visit Spain from 5 to 8 June 2012 to monitor the country's commitments under the European Charter of Local Self-Government that Spain ratified in 1988.

The Rapporteurs (Marc COOLS, Chamber of Local Authorities, Belgium, ILDG and Leen VERBEEK, Chamber of Regions, The Netherlands, SOC) will meet with Spanish authorities at national, regional and local level to discuss the evolution of local and regional democracy in Spain since the last Congress recommendation dating from 2002. The delegation will visit the Autonomous Communities of Madrid, Andalusia and Castilla La Mancha.

They will meet representatives of the Spanish Federation of Municipalities and Provinces (FEMP), of the Ministry of State of Finance and Public Administration, and of the city of Madrid and the Autonomous Community of Madrid. Meetings are also planned with the President of the Constitutional Court, the National Court of Auditors and the Regional Chamber of accounts of the Autonomous Community of Madrid and of Andalusia, representatives of the Spanish Senate and the Spanish Congress. The delegation will also meet the Deputy Mayor of Seville and representatives of the Autonomous Community of Andalusia and presidents of local associations of the Autonomous Community of Andalusia. Finally, the rapporteurs will also meet the representatives of the Autonomous Community of Castilla La Mancha.

A draft recommendation will be submitted for approval to the Monitoring Committee¹ and for adoption at one of the 2013 session of Congress.

More information on the European Charter of Local Self-Government

Contact on the spot:

Ms Stéphanie POIREL

Secretary of the Monitoring Committee of the Congress

Mobile: + 33 6 50 39 29 01 E-mail: stephanie.poirel@coe.int



The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Keith Whitmore (United Kingdom, ILDG), President of the Chamber of Regions: Herwig van Staa (Austria, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC)

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).

¹ Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by member states of the European Charter of Local Self-Government, referred to as the "Monitoring Commmittee".

¹ Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by member states of the European Charter of Local Self-Government, referred to as the "Monitoring Commmittee".