T +33(0)390214895

www.coe.int/congress

congress.com@coe.int

Ref. CG-PR043(2011)

## Congress delegation heading for monitoring mission to assess territorial democracy in the "former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia"

Strasbourg, 02.12.2011 – The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe will carry out a monitoring visit in the "former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" from 5 to 7 December 2011. Congress Rapporteurs Ian Micallef (Malta, EPP/CD) and Andrée Buchmann (France, SOC) will examine the honouring of commitments entered into by this country with regard to local and regional self-government, in the light of the country's ratification of the European Charter of Local Self-Government in June 1997. The delegation will focus on the country's response to the recommendations to the national authorities following the last Congress general monitoring visit in 2007.

Meetings are scheduled notably with Nevzat Bejta, Minister of Local Self-Government, representatives from the Ministry of Finance as well as members of the national delegation to the Congress and members of the Association of Units of Self Government. The Congress delegation will also meet Parliamentary Committees, members of the Constitutional Court, the Audit Office and the Ombudsman.

Moreover, the delegation will hold talks with Koce Trajanovski, Mayor of Skopje, Fatmir Izairi, Mayor of Zhelino and Zoran Zaev, Mayor of Strumica.

## **Contact on the Spot:**

Sedef Cankocak, Secretariat of the Congress, +33 6 50 39 29 16

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Keith Whitmore (United Kingdom, ILDG), President of the Chamber of Regions: Herwig van Staa (Austria, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC)

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).