T +33(0)390214895

www.coe.int/congress

congress.com@coe.int

Ref. CG-PR042(2011)

## Congress visit to monitor local and regional democracy in Moldova

Strasbourg, 23.11.2011 - The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe is carrying out a monitoring visit, from 23 to 25 November 2011, to evaluate the situation of local and regional democracy in Moldova. This is the second stage in the monitoring process, which was launched by a first visit in early September 2011. The Congress rapporteurs, Mr Francis LEC (SOC, France) and Mr Ignacio SANCHEZ-AMOR (SOC, Spain) will examine the honouring of commitments entered into by Moldova with regard to local and regional self-government, in the light of the country's ratification of the European Charter of Local Self-Government in October 1997.

A number of meetings will take place, notably with representatives of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and European Integration, with the Presidents of the Court of Accounts, Serafim URECHEAN, of the Constitutional Court, Alexandru TANASE, and of the Central Electoral Commission, Iurie CIOCAN, as well as with the Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Liliana PALIHOVICIET, and representatives of the Ombudsman's office.

The Congress delegation will also have discussions with representatives of the Moldovan delegation to the Congress, the Governor of the Autonomous Territorial Unit of Gagauzia, local elected representatives of Dubasari and the mayors of Chisinau and Condrita.

Lastly, the delegation will hold talks with the head of the OSCE Mission to Moldova.

## Contact on the spot:

Jean-Philippe Bozouls, Secretariat of the Congress, +33 6 72 75 42 97

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Keith Whitmore (United Kingdom, ILDG), President of the Chamber of Regions: Herwig van Staa (Austria, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC)

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).