T +33(0)388412560

www.coe.int

pressunit@coe.int

Ref. DC 120 (2011)

European Film Awards: Co-production Award - Prix Eurimages - for Mariela Besuievsky

Strasbourg, 07.11.2011 - The winner of the fifth edition of the EUROPEAN CO-PRODUCTION AWARD - Prix EURIMAGES, an award acknowledging the decisive role of co-productions in the European film industry, was announced this weekend in the framework of the Seville European Film Festival in Spain.

This year's prize will go to an outstanding and dedicated producer who has always joined forces with colleagues in Europe and beyond to develop, produce and promote European cinema: **Mariela Besuievsky**, partner of Tornasol Films, and the producer and executive producer of more than 40 movies.

Her filmography includes films such as the Oscar-winning THE SECRET IN THEIR EYES by Juan José Campanella, THE LAST CIRCUS and THE OXFORD MURDERS by Alex de la Iglesia, and Ana Piterbarg's TODOS TENEMOS UN PLAN (We all Make Plans) starring Viggo Mortensen - currently in post-production. Her international co-productions include TETRO by Francis Ford Coppola, TRIAGE by Oscar-winner Danis Tanovic and Ken Loach's THE WIND THAT SHAKES THE BARLEY, winner of the Palme d'Or in Cannes.

The EUROPEAN CO-PRODUCTION AWARD - Prix EURIMAGES will be presented during the European Film Awards Ceremony in Berlin on Saturday, 3 December 2011.

EURIMAGES is a support fund for the co-production, distribution and exhibition of European cinematographic works, established by the Council of Europe in 1988 (E-mail: Eurimages@coe.int – Web: http://www.coe.int/Eurimages) (*).

Since it was set up in 1988, EURIMAGES has supported 1402 European co-productions for a total amount of approximately 423 million euros.

(*) Since 18 October 2011, EURIMAGES has 36 member states: Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, "The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" and Turkey.