## Media Advisory

**Congress of Local and Regional Authorities** Communication Division

Ref: MA118a10 Tel. +33 (0)3 90 21 52 40 Fax +33 (0)3 88 41 27 51 Internet: www.coe.int/congress e-mail: congress.com@coe.int

Albania



26.10.2010

47 member States

Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan **Belgium** Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus **Czech Republic** Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy I atvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova Monaco Montenegro Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland "The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom

# Council of Europe Congress to observe local elections in Ukraine

**Date:** 28 October to 2 November 2010 **Location:** Ukraine

A delegation from the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe will observe local elections in Ukraine, on 31 October 2010.

On 29 and 30 October the delegation will hold meetings in Kiev and in some regions with representatives from government, opposition, electoral bodies, NGOs and media.

Amongst the meetings requested by the delegation are the Presidential Administration and the Minister of Regional Development and Construction of Ukraine, Volodymyr Yatsuba. Meetings have been confirmed with the Chairman of the Parliament (Verkhovna Rada), Volodymyr Lytvyn; Deputy Head of the Central Election Commission, Andrij Magera; representatives of political parties; the Foundation for Local Self-government in Ukraine; as well as with ODHIR and other international organisations.

On 29 October, the delegation will divide into eleven teams and deploy to several cities including Odessa, Lviv, Simferopol and Kharkiv. There, they will meet with elected representatives, candidates and NGOs on 30 October and observe the elections on 31 October.

Gudrun Mosler-Törnström, Austria (R, SOC) will head the delegation, which will also include four members of the European Union's Committee of the Regions as a part of the cooperation agreement between the two institutions. Nigel Mermagen, United Kingdom (L, ILDG) will be the Rapporteur of the mission and Doreen Huddart, United Kingdom, (ALDE) the speaker of the Committee of the Regions.

A pre-election mission was carried out at the beginning of October in Kiev to assess the situation in the country prior to the elections. On this occasion, Congress members met representatives of electoral bodies, representatives of government and Parliament, as well as opposition representatives including Yuliya Tymoshenko.

The delegation will present its preliminary findings during a press conference scheduled for Monday 1 November at 15:00 at the Radisson Blu Hotel in Kiev (Radisson Blu Hotel, Yaroslaviv Val str. 22, Kiev 01034).

./..

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities. President of the Congress: Yavuz Mildon (Turkey, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Regions: Ludmila Sfirloaga (Romania, SOC), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Ian Micallef (Malta, EPP/CD). Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD),

Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).

### The delegation

Mrs Gudrun MOSLER-TÖRNSTRÖM Austria (R, SOC) - Head of the Delegation Mr Nigel MERMAGEN, United Kingdom (L, ILDG) - Rapporteur Mrs BOZATLI Hande Özsan, Turkey (R, EPP/CD) Mr Devrim CUKUR, Turkey (R, SOC) Mrs Dusica DAVIDOVIC, Serbia (R, NR) Mr Henry FERAL, France (L, EPP/CD) Mr Volkram GEBEL, Germany (L, EPP/CD) Mr Gintautas GEGUZINSKAS, Lithuania (R, EPP/CD) Mrs Jon HERMANS-VLOEDBELD, The Netherlands (L, ILDG) Mr Günther KRUG, Germany (R, SOC) Mr Hannu KEMPPAINEN, Finland (L, ILDG) Mr Francis LEC, France (L, SOC) Mr Vladimir NOVIKOV, Russian Federation (L, NR) Mr Petru Radu PAUN JURA, Romania, (L, ILDG) Mr Emin YERITSYAN, Armenia (L, EPP/CD)

### EU Committe of the Regions

Mr Joseph CORDINA, Malta (PES) Mrs Doreen HUDDART, United Kingdom, (ALDE) – speaker of the Committee of the Regions Mr Teet KALLASVEE, Estonia (EPP) Mr Brian MEANEY, Ireland (EA)

### **Congress Secretariat**

Renate ZIKMUND, Head of the Congress Division of Communication, International Relations and Election Observation, Antonella CAGNOLATI, Congress Director Nichola HOWSON, Assistant to the Ukrainian election mission Pauline CADÉAC, Assistant to the Ukrainian election mission

### Press contacts on the spot:

Renate Zikmund, Head of the Congress Division of Communication, International Relations and Election Observation, tel. +33 6 59 78 64 55; <u>renate.zikmund@coe.int</u> Council of Europe Office in Kiev, Tel:. +380 44 2344084, <u>http://www.coe.kiev.ua/</u>

More information is available at www.coe.int/congress-elections