Press Release

Directorate of Communication Ref: 528a10

Tel. +33 3 88 41 25 60 Fax +33 3 88 41 39 11 Internet: www.coe.int e-mail: pressunit@coe.int

47 member States

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus **Czech Republic** Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova Monaco Montenegro Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland "The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom

Eurimages Co-production Development Award

STRASBOURG, 29.06.2010 – The Council of Europe's Eurimages Fund has joined forces with co-production markets in Rotterdam (CineMart), Sarajevo (CineLink) and Rome (New Cinema Network) to award the *Eurimages Co-production Development Award*.

The award, a cash prize of 30 000 euros, has been created to promote the Fund's role in encouraging European co-production from the initial stages of a project.

To be eligible, projects must have been designed from the outset as a European coproduction, other than in purely financial terms, between at least two member states of the Eurimages Fund.

The prize will be awarded for the first time at the forthcoming Sarajevo Film Festival as part of the CineLink event, to be held from 28 to 31 July 2010 (www.sff.ba).

For further information on the subject, please contact: **Nathalie Monteillet**, Eurimages, Public Relations and Promotion, <u>nathalie.monteillet@coe.int</u>, Tel. +33 (0)3 88 41 36 77 **Altijana Maric**, Sarajevo Film Festival, <u>press@sff.ba</u> – Tel. +38733209411

EURIMAGES is a support fund for the co-production, distribution and exhibition of European cinematographic works, established by the Council of Europe in 1988 (E-mail: <u>Eurimages@coe.int</u> – Web: <u>http://www.coe.int/Eurimages</u>)¹.

* * *

Since it was set up in 1988, EURIMAGES has supported 1320 European coproductions for a total amount of approximately 397 million euros.

¹ Since 1 September 2009, EURIMAGES has 34 member states: Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, "The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" and Turkey.

To receive our press releases by e-mail, contact: Council.of.Europe.Press@coe.int

A political organisation set up in 1949, the Council of Europe works to promote democracy and human rights continent-wide. It also develops common responses to social, cultural and legal challenges in its 47 member states.

