Media Advisory

Congress of Local and Regional Authorities

Communication Division

Ref: MA057a10

Tel. +33 (0)3 90 21 52 40 Fax +33 (0)3 88 41 27 51

Internet: www.coe.int/congress e-mail: congress.com@coe.int



Strasbourg, 21.05.2010

47 member States

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan

Belgium

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Bulgaria Croatia

Cyprus Czech Republic

Denmark Estonia

Finland France Georgia Germany

Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy

I atvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg

Malta Moldova Monaco

Montenegro Netherlands Norway Poland

Portugal Romania Russia

San Marino Serbia

> Slovakia Slovenia Spain

Sweden Switzerland

"The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" Turkey

Ukraine **United Kingdom** Council of Europe Congress to observe local elections in Georgia

Date: 27-31 May 2010 Location: Tbilisi (Georgia)

A delegation of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe will observe local elections in Georgia, including the first direct elections of the Mayor of Tbilisi, on 30 May 2010.

On 27 and 28 May the delegation will meet with representatives of government and electoral bodies, amongst them the Chairman of the Parliament, Davit Bakradze and the Minister of Regional Development and Infrastructure, Davit Tkeshelalvili. Meetings are scheduled also with media and local NGO representatives. Views will be exchanged with members of the OSCE/ODIHR delegation.

Congress Vice-President Günther Krug (Germany, SOC) will head a delegation, which will include also four members of the European Union's Committee of the Regions. As a part of the cooperation agreement between the two institutions.

A pre-election mission was carried out at the beginning of May in Tbilisi and Rustavi to assess the situation in the country prior to the elections. On this occasion, Congress members met representatives of electoral bodies, representatives of government and Parliament, as well as candidates from the ruling party and from the opposition to the post of Mayor of Tbilisi.

The delegation will present its findings during a press conference scheduled for Monday 31 May at 11 am (Hotel Ambasadori, 13 Shavteli St. – Tbilisi).)

The delegation

Congress members:

Mr Günther Krug (Germany, SOC), Congress Vice-President - Head of Delegation

Mr Istvan Borbely (Hungary, EPP-CD), Congress Vice-President Mr Emin Yeritsyan (Armenia, EPP-CD), Congress Vice-President

Mr Fabio Pellegrini (Italy, SOC), Congress Vice-President

Mrs Dusica Davidovic (Serbia, NR) Mr Beat Hirs (Switzerland, ILDG)

Mr Mihkel Juhkami (Estonia, EPP-CD)

Mr Nigel Mermagen (UK, ILDG) Mrs Véronique Moreira (France, NR)

Mrs Gudrun Mosler-Törnström (Austria, SOC)

Committe of the Regions members :

Mr Teet Kallasvee (Estonia, EPP-CD)

Mr Uno Silberg (Estonia, EA) Mrs Sharon Taylor (UK, PSE)

Mrs Jasmina Vidmar (Slovenia, ALDE)

Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).

Media Advisory

Congress Secretariat:

Mrs Antonella Cagnolati, Director

Mrs Renate Zikmund, Head of the Division of Communication, International Relations and Election Observation

Mrs Lucrezia Titi, Communications Assistant

More information is available at www.coe.int/congress-georgia

Press contacts on the spot:

Renate Zikmund, Head of the Congress Division of Communication, International Relations and Election Observation, tel. +33 6 59 78 64 55; renate.zikmund@coe.int
Council of Europe Office in Tbilisi

Tel: +995 32 91 38 70 or 71 / 72 / 73, Fax: +995 32 91 38 74, informtbilisi@coe.int, www.coe.ge