# **Press** Release

## **Directorate of Communication**

Ref: 140a10

Tel. +33 3 88 41 25 60 Fax +33 3 88 41 39 11 Internet: www.coe.int e-mail: pressunit@coe.int



#### 47 member States

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova Monaco Montenegro Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland "The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" Turkey

Ukraine United Kingdom

# Secretary General welcomes forthcoming entry into force of Protocol No.14

Interlaken (Switzerland), 18.02.2010 – "Today Russia ratified Protocol No. 14 to the European Convention on Human Rights and thereby confirmed its commitment to Europe. The Protocol, already ratified by the other 46 member countries of our Organisation, will come into force on 1 June", said the Secretary General of the Council of Europe, Thorbjørn Jagland.

"We are in Interlaken, at the initiative of the Swiss Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers, to discuss the future of the European Court of Human Rights. This final ratification is the result of a dialogue conducted with the highest Russian authorities and signals the start of a genuine reform of the Court", he continued.

The provisions of the Protocol will make the Strasbourg Court more efficient and help reduce the backlog of applications submitted to it.

"Pending accession of the European Union to the European Convention on Human Rights, which will also strengthen significantly the protection of human rights on our continent, I invite European governments to reaffirm their attachment to our fundamental values. I invite them to support the reform of the Court and to ensure compliance with the Convention and its case-law", the Secretary General concluded.

### Note to editors

The Minister of Justice of the Russian Federation, Alexander Konovalov, presented the instruments of ratification of Protocol No. 14 to the Secretary General on the occasion of the Conference on the future of the ECHR which took place in Interlaken, Switzerland, on 18 and 19 February, attended by the Ministers responsible for human rights of the 47 Council of Europe member states.