Media Advisory

Congress of Local and Regional Authorities Communication Division Ref: MA007a10 Tel. +33 (0)3 90 21 52 40 Fax +33 (0)3 88 41 27 51 Internet: www.coe.int/congress e-mail: congress.com@coe.int

47 member States

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan **Belgium** Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus **Czech Republic** Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy I atvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova Monaco Montenegro Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland "The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom

COUNCIL CONSEIL OF EUROPE DE L'EUROPE

05.02.2010

Council of Europe Congress: Ian Micallef on official visit to Andorra

Date: 9 February 2010

Location: Andorra la Vella (Andorra)

Description: Ian Micallef, acting President of the Council of Europe Congress of Local and Regional Authorities, will pay an official visit to Andorra. This is the first in a series of visits to the three Council of Europe member states that have not yet ratified the <u>European Charter of Local Self-Government</u> (Andorra, Monaco and San Marino).

The acting President will meet Minister of Foreign Affairs Xavier Espot Miró to discuss possible solutions to the obstacles preventing Andorra from ratifying the Charter. He will report on the results of the visit to the Bureau of the Congress, meeting in Strasbourg (France) on 16 March 2010.

* * *

The European Charter of Local Self-Government is the first international binding text that lays down the core principles of local democracy and guarantees the rights of communities and their elected authorities. Adopted by the Council of Europe in 1985, the Charter, which affirms the role of communities as the first level for the exercise of democracy, has become the benchmark international treaty in this area. To date, it has been ratified by 44 out of the 47 Council of Europe member states. The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities monitors the implementation of the Charter to make sure that its principles are observed.

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities. President of the Congress: Yavuz Mildon (Turkey, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Regions: Ludmila Sfirloaga (Romania, SOC), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Ian Micallef (Malta, EPP/CD). Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).