Media Advisory

Congress of Local and Regional Authorities Communication Division Ref: MA158a09 Tel. +33 (0)3 90 21 52 40 Fax +33 (0)3 88 41 27 51 Internet: www.coe.int/congress e-mail: congress.com@coe.int

47 member States

Albania

Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan **Belgium** Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus **Czech Republic** Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy I atvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova Monaco Montenegro Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland "The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom



Strasbourg, 15.12.2009

Monitoring of local and regional democracy in Russia

Dates: from 16 to 17 December 2009

Location: Moscow

Description: The Council of Europe Congress of Local and Regional Authorities will carry out a general monitoring mission to assess the state of local and regional democracy in the Russian Federation. This visit opens the second cycle of monitoring for this country since it ratified the European Charter of Local Self-Government in 1998.

Congress Rapporteurs Christopher Newbury (United Kingdom, L, EPP/CD) and Knud Andersen (Denmark, R, ILDG) will examine the situation of local and regional self-government, in particular in the light of the new law on the dismissal of mayors by municipal councils, enacted in May 2009.

They will meet Yuri Osintsev, Deputy Minister of Regional Development; Stepan Kirichuk, President of the Committee on Local Self-Government of the Federation Council (upper Chamber of the Parliament) and President of the Russian National Congress of Municipalities (RNCM); Valery Kadokhov, First Vice-President of the Federation Council's Committee on Federation Affairs and Regional Policy and Congress member, as well as other members of the Russian delegation to the Congress.

Meetings are also scheduled with Viktor Usachev, President of the State Duma's Committee on Federation Affairs and Regional Policy; Vyacheslav Timchenko, President of the State Duma's Committee on Local Self-Government; and Viktor Pankraschenko, RNCM Executive Director and member of the Civic Chamber's Committee on Local Self-Government and Housing Policy.

The Congress' latest recommendation on the situation of local and regional democracy in Russia was adopted in May 2004. In November 2007, the Congress held an exchange of view with Russian Vice-Minister of Regional Development Vitaly Shipov on the recommendation's implementation.

A second monitoring visit is scheduled to take place in the first half of 2010, following which a report will be submitted to the Congress' Institutional Committee.

Contact in Moscow:

Tim Lisney, Secretariat of the Congress, Mobile: +33 6 50 39 29 07

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities. President of the Congress: Yavuz Mildon (Turkey, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Regions: Ludmila Sfirloaga (Romania, SOC), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Ian Micallef (Malta, EPP/CD). Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).