Media Advisory

Congress of Local and Regional Authorities

Communication Division

Ref: MA154a09

Tel. +33 (0)3 90 21 52 40 Fax +33 (0)3 88 41 27 51

Internet: www.coe.int/congress e-mail: congress.com@coe.int





09.12.2009

47 member States

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan

Belgium

Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia

Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark

Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland

Italy
Latvia
Liechtenstein
Lithuania
Luxembourg

Malta
Moldova
Monaco
Montenegro
Netherlands

Norway Poland Portugal Romania

Russia San Marino

> Serbia Slovakia

Slovenia

Spain Sweden

Switzerland

"The former Yugoslav

Republic of Macedonia"

Turkey Ukraine

United Kingdom

Monitoring of local and regional democracy in Belgium

Dates: from 16 to 18 December 2009

Location: Brussels

Description: The Council of Europe Congress of Local and Regional Authorities will carry out a monitoring mission to assess the state of local and regional democracy in Belgium. This will be the first general monitoring visit to this country since it ratified the European Charter of Local Self-Government in 2004.

Congress Rapporteurs Michel Guégan (France, L, NR) and Dobrica Milovanovic (Serbia, R, NR) will meet Geert Bourgeois, Vice Minister-President and Interior Minister of Flanders; Charles Picqué, Minister-President of the Brussels-Capital Region; Karl-Heinz Lambertz, Minister-President of the German-Speaking Community; as well as representatives of Minister-President of Wallonia Rudy Demotte and of Walloon Local Authorities Minister Paul Furlan. They will also meet the Presidents and the Secretaries General of national associations of local and regional authorities representing the Brussels-Capital Region, Flanders and Wallonia.

Previously, the Congress adopted two recommendations on the situation of local and regional democracy in Belgium, in May 2003 and in December 2008.

A second monitoring visit is scheduled to take place in spring 2010, following which a report will be submitted to the Congress' Institutional Committee in autumn 2010.