Press Release

Parliamentary Assembly - Communication Unit

Ref: 408a09

Tel. +33 (0)3 88 41 31 93 Fax +33 (0)3 90 21 41 34

Internet: http://assembly.coe.int e-mail: pace.com@coe.int





47 member States

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark **Estonia** Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova Monaco Montenegro Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal

> Romania Russia San Marino Serbia

> > Slovakia

Slovenia

Republic of

Macedonia"

Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom

"The former Yugoslav

Spain Sweden Switzerland

PACE Standing Committee meets in Ljubljana

Strasbourg, 25.05.2009 – The Standing Committee of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) will meet in Ljubljana on Friday 29 May 2009 at the invitation of the Slovenian National Assembly.

PACE President Lluís Maria de Puig will also hold separate meetings on the same day with Slovenian President Danilo Türk and the President of the National Assembly Pavel Gantar.

The meeting of the Standing Committee will be opened by Mr de Puig, followed by a welcome address from Mr Gantar. Assembly members are then due to hold an exchange of views with Slovenian Foreign Minister Samuel Žbogar, the Chairperson of the Council of Europe Committee of Ministers, and Slovenian Justice Minister Aleš Zalar on the <u>priorities</u> of Slovenia's six-month Chairmanship.

Reports on the agenda cover topics such as a <u>ban on cluster munitions</u>, <u>sexual violence against women in armed conflict</u>, and the <u>Council of Europe</u> and <u>Assembly</u> budgets for 2010.

Other items for debate include the rights of today's girls: the rights of tomorrow's women, and protecting financial aid granted by Council of Europe member states to poor countries against financial funds known as "vulture funds".

The Standing Committee, which acts on behalf of the Assembly between plenary sessions, brings together around 80 parliamentarians from the 47 member states of the Council of Europe.

Agenda of the meeting (PDF)
Website of the Slovenian Chairmanship

The meeting, which is open to the press, will be held from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. (and possibly from 2.30 p.m. to 4.30 p.m.) on Friday 29 May at the National Assembly building, Subiceva 4, SI-1000 Ljubljana.

Contacts:

Angus Macdonald, PACE Communication Unit, mobile: +33 6 30 49 68 20, e-mail: angus.macdonald@coe.int