Press Release

Parliamentary Assembly – Communication Unit

Ref: 356a09 Tel. +33 (0)3 88 41 31 93 Fax +33 (0)3 90 21 41 34 Internet: http://assembly.coe.int e-mail: pace.com@coe.int



47 member States

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus **Czech Republic** Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova Monaco Montenegro Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland "The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom

Ankara wins the 2009 Europe Prize

Strasbourg, 29.04.2009 - The 2009 Europe Prize has been awarded to the Turkish town of Ankara. The decision was taken unanimously by the Committee on the Environment, Agriculture and Local and Regional Affairs of the Council of Europe's Parliamentary Assembly (PACE) meeting today in Strasbourg.

Through its forty twinnings in the world, Ankara has developed a very dense network of international contacts and attaches great importance to the development of cultural relations by organising every year Cultural Days. And thanks to its international conferences (such as the 5th Glocal Forum) it has contributed to strengthening friendship and understanding among people.

Ankara, which was already awarded the Flag of Honour in 2001 and the Plague of Honour in 2003, is the third Turkish town to receive this award, after Istanbul and Bursa.

Created by PACE in 1955, the Europe Prize is the highest distinction that can be bestowed on a European town for its actions in the European domain. The prize consists of a trophy, a medal, a diploma and a scholarship to be spent on a study visit within Europe for young people from the winning town.

The **Plague of Honour**, which is the second highest distinction after the Europe Prize, was awarded to twelve municipalities:

Austria	Judenburg (Styria)
France	Auzances (Creuse)
	Tossiat (Ain)
Germany	Bühl (Baden-Wurtemberg)
	Euskirchen (North-Rhine Westphalia)
	Neuburg an der Donau (Bavaria)
	Seeheim-Jugenheim (Hessen)
Hungary	Szentes (Csongrad County)
Poland	Leszno (woj. Wielkopolskie)
	Płock (woj. Mazowieckie)
Spain	Donostia – San Sebastian (Basque Country)
Ukraine	Odessa

./..

Press Release

The Flag of Honour was awarded to 18 municipalities this year:

Bulgaria France Germany	Kavarna Montfort-sur-Meu (Ille-et-Vilaine) Aschaffenburg (Bavaria) Coburg (Bavaria) Ellwangen (Baden-Wurtemberg) Hackenheim (Rhineland-Palatinate) Harpstedt (Lower-Saxony) Herborn (Hessen) Leinzell (Baden-Wurtemberg)
Italy	Follonica (Prov. Grosseto)
Lithuania	Kedainiai (Kaunas County) Šilutė (Klaipeda County)
Poland	Bołeslawiec (woj. Dolnośląskie)
	Lębork (woj. Pomorskie)
	Malbork (woj. Pomorskie)
	Nysa (woj. Opolskie)
Romania	Caracal
Spain	Sant Cugat del Vallès (Catalonia)
17 municipalities were granted the European Diploma:	
Belgium	Gooik (Flemish Brabant)
France	Arnage (Sarthe)
	Plerguer (Ille-et-Vilaine)
Germany	Bacharach am Rhein (Rhineland-Palatinate)
	Erlangen (Bavaria) Flotwedel (Lower-Saxony)
	Leverkusen (North-Rhine-Westphalia)
	Obersulm (Baden-Wurtemberg)
Hungary	Ajka
Italy	Salsomaggiore Terme (Prov. Parma)
Poland	Serock (woj. Mazowieckie)
	Trzcińsko Zdrój (woj. Zachodniopomorskie)
Russia	Petrozavodsk (Carelia)
Spain	Sant Joan Les Abadesses (Catalonia)
l lucito al 12 a su el euro	Terrassa (Catalonia)
United Kingdom	Chalfont St. Giles (Buckinghamshire) Wigan (Lancashire)