Media Advisory

Directorate of Communication

Ref: MA040a09

Tel. +33 (0)3 88 41 25 60 Fax +33 (0)3 88 41 39 11 Internet: www.coe.int e-mail: pressunit@coe.int





47 member States

Strasbourg, 16.04.2009

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan Belgium

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Bulgaria

Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark

Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece

Greece
Hungary
Iceland
Ireland
Italy
Latvia
Liechtenstein
Lithuania

Luxembourg
Malta
Moldova
Monaco
Montenegro
Netherlands
Norway
Poland

Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain

Sweden Switzerland "The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia"

> Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom

New anti-money laundering and anti-terrorist monitoring body holds first meeting in Strasbourg

Date: 22-23 April 2009

Location: Strasbourg, Council of Europe, Room 1

Description: The Conference of the Parties to the 2005 Council of Europe Convention on laundering, search, seizure and confiscation of the proceeds from crime and on the financing of terrorism (CETS no.198) will hold its first meeting to discuss the main aspects of the convention and its relationship with other international standards, as well as ways of monitoring its implementation in participating countries. It will also elect an interim president and discuss its internal rules of procedure.

The Conference of the Parties is a new Council of Europe monitoring body. It is responsible for regularly evaluating the proper implementation of the convention and may also, at the request of a Party, express opinions on its interpretation and application.

Terry Davis, Secretary General of the Council of Europe, will open the meeting at 9.30.

Additional information:

The convention entered into force on 1 May 2008.

To date, Albania, Armenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Cyprus, Hungary, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Serbia and Slovakia have ratified it.

The convention has been signed, but not yet ratified, by the European Community and 18 Council of Europe member States: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Finland, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, Portugal, Russia, San Marino, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia", Turkey and Ukraine.

Practical information: Only the opening ceremony is open to the press.

Link to the programme

More information on the convention

Press contact: Jaime Rodríguez, Press Officer, Tel. +33 (0) 689 99 50 42; jaime.rodriguez@coe.int