Press Release

Parliamentary Assembly - Communication Unit

Ref: 059a09

Tel. +33 (0)3 88 41 31 93 Fax +33 (0)3 90 21 41 34

Internet: http://assembly.coe.int e-mail: pace.com@coe.int





47 member States

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan

Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina

Bulgaria Croatia

> Cyprus Czech Republic

Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia

Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy

Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta

Moldova Monaco Montenegro Netherlands Norway

Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia

Poland

Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain

Sweden

Switzerland "The former Yugoslav

Republic of Macedonia"

Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom

PACE elects its President and Vice-Presidents

Strasbourg, 26.01.2009 – The Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) today re-elected Lluís Maria de Puig as its President.

PACE also elected its Vice-Presidents:

Gudfinna S. Bjarnadottir Iceland Mevlüt Çavuşoğlu Turkey

Anna Čurdová Czech Republic

Davit Harutyunyan Armenia
Andres Herkel Estonia
Joachim Hörster Germany

Mladen Ivanić Bosnia and Herzegovina

Danuta Jazłowiecka Poland Michael Aastrup Jensen Denmark

Konstantin Kosachev Russian Federation

Juan Fernando López Aguilar Spain Younal Loutfi Bulgaria Frano Matušić Croatia Jean-Claude Mignon France

John Prescott

Samad Seyidov

Azerbaijjan

Luiai Vitali

Luigi Vitali Italy
Paul Wille Belgium
Gisela Wurm Austria

The seat of Vice-President in respect of Cyprus remains vacant.